We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CERTAINLY NOT A 4 STAR”
Review of Grantley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grantley House
Ranked #120 of 153 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I BROUGHT MY FAMILY HERE FOR THE WEEKEND WHEN WE FOUND OUT WHERE THE B+B WAS WE TRYED TO GET PARKED WHICH WAS A NIGHTMARE ON ITS OWN BUT EVENTUALLY DID THEN CARRIED ALL OUR LUGGAGE TO THE B+B AS WE GOT TO THE B+B I THOUGHT OH THIS DOSNT LOOK THAT GREAT LIKE IT DOES ON THE INTERNET THERE WAS NOBODY TO GREET US JUST A NOTE ON THE DOOR TO RING SOMEBODY TO TELL US HOW TO GET IN WHICH WASNT A PROBLEM,THE ENTRANCE HALL WAS tired and carpet very old and worn we carried our luggage up to the attic rooms we had rooms 6 and 7 which were quite shabby,paper coming off the walls,no clean cups left for the next day and dirty ones not even taken away, if you dont get in the shower early theres no water as other people are using the showers,dirty towels were not taken away either,dont be mistaken for the photos you see on the web page as we were,they must of been take quite a long time ago, it basically needs a total revamp, the people were friendly enough but I would not come back here to stay it was not value for money at all ,if it hadn't of been such a busy weekend in whitby I would of gone somewhere else to stay,i am not the sort of person who ever complains and this is actually the first time I have wrote a bad review on trip advisor but I do think people should be warned about this I don't know what the other rooms are like but if you do decide to stay here do avoid the attic bedrooms

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrandmrsarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

had a great weekend.great location.parking a bit of a nightmare.rooms nice and clean.owner was away but staff looked after us really well.breakfast a bit late on the first morning but that was due to other guests not coming down on tme.germans.say no more.thank you for making it a great weekend.

Room Tip: ask for the four-poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had 2 nights here this weekend and had a great time in Whitby. This is a great location right near the town centre but far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. Lovely comfortable rooms with plenty of space. We arrived late and Justin had kindly left our keys in the front porch as promised so we could let ourselves in, if that isn't hospitality I don't know what is. The breakfast was absolutely superb, lovely fresh fruit and a fry up that was cooked to perfection. Can't find any fault with the place, would highly recommend to anybody and we will definitely stay here again in Whitby :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

once again we had first class accomidation and food, jason and his staff always friendly and helpful, room very comfortable with free wi fi and cable tv, and the breakfasts they are just to die for, what a fantastic choice for braekfat every morning, from fresh fruit to a full english, and if you have the full english it sets you up for the day

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitbywhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great stay. Food really good, not far to walk to sea front. Rooms great, very swish. ( nice decor). Very clean. My only moan... noise from above! (Not music I may add) just heavy footing .although it stopped come midnight... we had my 82yr young mum with us... Brilliant place. Def go again. Staff were very attentive. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldregiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked on the basis of previous reviews and we were not disappointed it was just what we wanted from a friendly welcome to a comfy room. It is close to the sea front and harbour and although car parking was not always easy it is in a great location. The breakfast was brilliant with helpful staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelH914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lovely breakfast perfect location we stayed in room 4 lovely double bed tea making facilities breakfast was lovely service nice friendly staff even the young lad was nice owners are very friendly room was clean my only compliant is breakfast served between 8am-9am maybe 8-10 for holiday makers who like long lie thanks again don't let this review but you off Grantley House defo 5*

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
273 reviews
5.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#135 of 153 in Whitby
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grantley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grantley House

Address: 26 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $103 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grantley House 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Victorian house retaining many original features, managed by resident owners offering a high standard of service and cleanliness. Convenient for the beach and the town centre, it's an ideal place to stay and take a relaxing break. 4 Star rated, all double rooms and family rooms are en-suite with central heating, colour TV with Sky Freeview, radio alarm, hairdryer and hospitality tray. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grantley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grantley House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing