We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers, but generally nice people”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers, but generally nice people”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Four of us arrived, signed in, went to the rooms, only to find one room already occupied, and the other room did not have any hot water.
We were given another room to replace the occupied one and told to use a small twin room on another floor for hot water.
We put up with this for one night and were moved to another room for the second night. Guess what. There was no hot water.
Rest of the stay we used the sink and water from the kettle to wash. I'm sure a less lenient guest would have been a bit more awkward. The staff were full of appologies but it did taint the visit a bit.
The bar did not have draught beer all day Friday because the coolers were playing up. We had to pay premium prices for bottles.
Good point is the breakfast, the location, the live music and the friendly staff.
We were given a token £20 per couple refund for our inconveniences. (without asking).
I would recommend the hotel only if the plumbing is fixed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    440
    210
    58
    48
See reviews for
95
753
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

It's clear that some effort has been made to upgrade the decoration and quality of the bedrooms here recently but this is let down by a horrible lack of cleanliness.

After arriving in our room we found that the bathroom and carpet of the room had not been cleaned. After complaining we were moved to a second room which was better, but still could not be described as clean - unhoovered, very dusty, glasses and crockery with dirty marks, amongst other things. Also, only one channel on the TV worked. At this point I tried to find alternative accommodation in Whitby to move to but everywhere was busy. Stuck with staying here and several complaints later, the room was finally given a better clean, but still not hoovered.

Cleanliness is the very least you can expect from a hotel, so I couldn't recommend the Resolution hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Resolution Hotel it is a lovely friendly place to stay nothing is tooo much trouble for Jan and the staff. The room was tastefully decorated very clean and more than adequate. The view was fantastic over the roof tops to Whitby Abbey. We had a very good nights sleep even though there was a band playing on Saturday night werent disturbed at all. The breakfast was very good served on hot plates and a there was as much food as you could want and more. We will definatly be going back !!!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LadyA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The 1st room we were allocated seemed ok until further inspection..not hoovered+ very dutsty, the bath had a dirty black ring and when we complained, were asked IF WE HAD USED IT!!!! The 2nd room bit better but still no cleaning had been done. Could have sworn my bed had been slept in+ quite a snotty response when I asked for it to be changed for My peace of mind. The chef/waiter spot on, least he took pride in his job. Good location for seeing all of Whitby. With concientious staff, this could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noimpressedatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdour
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I loved the location of this hotel and really, it's a nice hotel too, but I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. What the owners need to do is hire a couple of cleaners and a maintenance man. Our room wasn't hoovered once during our stay (5days) and we couldn't get the toilet door shut in room 310. The view was lovely from the room and the stay could have been a lot better with wee touches here and there. The chef who made the breakfast gets my praises. Always had a smile and asking if everything was ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangers012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

30 of us stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our parents rewnewing their wedding vows. It was great our group aged from 1 year old to 60 year old had a fab time the food & drink was excellent & the entertainment was too. The breakfasts are huge & very tasty. It is a very family friendly hotel. The rooms are lovely & so are the staff. The Manager is fantastic & nothing is a problem for her. We are going again soon I hope.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucie_hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

At first we were a bit hesitant to stay here, but it was late so we gave up our search and booked a room. We are so lucky we did! The room was charming and the service was attentive while still being casual and friendly. My mother accidentally left her purse in the lift for about ten minutes and it was still there when she realized she didnt have it, so the area seemed safe too! The location is perfect, right downtown, a close walk to everything! Also breakfast was yummy, our waiter/cook was very sweet and wanted to chat quite a bit. Overall, very charming and a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing