We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
South Shields
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have stayed at this Hotel in the past but when we arrived for our latest stay we where surprised that there was a new management team lead by the most perfect host Jan who made us feel extremely welcome. The changes to the Hotel where unbelievable and we have already booked for our Easter break.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanticShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    412
    196
    55
    44
See reviews for
87
698
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Had a great new year best place to be at new year or any other time.could not go this year as husband fell down and and broke his anckle .but will be there next new year or maybe before sylvia brooks

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviabrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

just stayed for weekend, met new manager JAN who was very welcoming and friendly,nothing was to much trouble.whilst she is refurbishing the full hotel, restaurant and bar area we found it didnt effect our stay.the room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the harbour and the abbey.the breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety.the entertainment on the night was live which was a nice change..look forward to going again soon

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlep_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

This is only the second time we have stayed in whitby, the first time was in october. had a fantastic time. the new owner is remarkable very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, our weekend was made realy special with the friendlyness of Jan (the new manager) and the staff.
New years eve had a group on singing a range of songs from Abba to Lady Gagga, which suited all ages, there was also a free buffet on which was very yummy!
The breakfast was also one of the best we have had and there was plenty.
We were all impressed with the hotel and friendlyness of the staff who made our stay very memorable.
We are returning in October, as long as she allows the hubby in! He was "barred" every time he entered the bar!! He's been threatened with the cellar next time he goes ....
If anyone is thinking of booking into the hotel, you will love it, its clean, its very central and most of all you are made welcome with the lovely Jan.
well done to everyone

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkingmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We have been to Whitby numerous times (usually for Goth weekend in Oct), but whilst we always go in the Resolution for a drink, we have never stayed there before. It was recently taken over in November 2009 and we could see improvements made from when we popped in in October. The new owner is absolutely brill and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and she joined in with everyone and told us of her plans for the place - She is a proper landlady and cares about her clients. We did travel with another couple and she kept telling Alan from the other couple that he was 'barred' every time she saw him - threatened that he is going in cellar next time he goes (ha ha)!! The breakfast was one of the best we have had and there was plenty of it. She arranged for us to have a meal on both New Years Eve and New Years Day and with only a limited menu due to suppliers being closed, managed to get her chef to rustle up a lovely meal on both days. On New Years Eve there was no charge for anyone going in and there was a group on who where absolutely fantastic - sung everything from Abba to Lady Gaga. The landlady also put a free midnight buffet on which had everything from a whole Salmon to pork pies, sausage rolls, sandwiches, quiches etc, - allsorts of stuff. We were definitely impressed and on the strength have booked again for this New Year 2010/11, along with 3 more couples who were there, one who had booked 5 rooms and then asked for another 2 for this year. The landlady also stated that we will see even more improvements when we stay this year as all the rooms will have been refurbished by then. We aren't staying there this October as we had already booked our accommodation, but we will be up to see her as she threatened us with death if we didn't. So.... if you fancy a really good time at New Year or any other time for that matter, get to the Resolution - if we feel like a weekend away at short notice we will definitely try them first!!!!!! It is in the centre of Whitby, so what more could you ask for. A* all the way

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for the first time in December '09 with a group of friends for our works Christmas night out and I have got to say what a great night we had. The rooms in the hotel are very clean and comfortable and we also got a peep at the honeymoon suite which is a must for a special occassion. When we arrived on the afternoon we stayed in the bar for a few drinks which is very relaxed and a great place to unwind or prepare for a night out. Bar prices are reasonable with some good offers on. We got changed and went on a bit of a pub crawl round Whitby before going back to the hotel just in time to catch the live band that was on who were very good and had everyone on their feet. The hotel had a great atmosphere on the evening and the bar staff and management were very friendly. The breakfasts are lovely and the bar food looked good too although we didn't get chance to sample this as we were all hungover. I would like to say a big thanks to Jan (The New Manager) for making us all feel very welcome.
I would definately return to this hotel and am already considering going back for a weekend break for my husband's birthday in February.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSull76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Just had a great 2 night stay at the Resolution. The new owner was lovely, very friendly and helpful and has some great ideas for the Hotel in the near future so watch this space!
We were on the 3rd floor with a view over the Abbey. The room was absolutely fine, clean tidy, well decorated and quiet. No complaints.
The weather was freezing on the Saturday so we had a little walk round Whitby then headed back to the Hotel to eat. We were very impressed with the food and decided to stay in the bar for the night. Live entertainment was on which went down a treat with everybody, the place filled up about about 9 and we had a great night.
Food is very reasonably priced and drinks are at pub prices rather than the usual silly hotel prices.
Once again we had a great stay and would reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minooandquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing