We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My girlfriend took me here for my birthday weekend,the view out of the room window at night was amazing with the castle lit up.bed was very comfey(i suffer with a bad back) the bathroom could do with a refurb but the room was really nice.Breakfast was first class.the staff were very helpfull,there was a lift which was a bonus.would recommend the hotel to my friends and family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Maher_3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    442
    210
    58
    48
See reviews for
96
754
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Took advantage of a KGB Deal with friends for a mini break between Christmas and New Year. The staff were friendly, room good size and clean with good view over the town, shower was quite powerful and hot and after a windy and rainy walk round Whitby that was welcoming. Tea and coffee in the room was very substantial. Good choice at breakfast and not long to wait for it. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 794Lizzieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Hotel is very clean and comfortable but what sets it apart are the Staff who really go the extra mile. Food in the Restaurant downstairs, called the Vault; is some of the best dishes i've tasted. I would recommend the Lamb, this place is really a well kept secret which I will expose to everyone, GREAT VALUE and EXCELLENT FOOD, not a combination i'm used to.

Room Tip: Clean and Tidy Have a meal in the Vault downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianrowe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Had room on 2nd floor. Floors creaky. Sound of rushing water whenever an adjacent room flushed toilet. Herd of stampeding elephants in room above us. Needed earplugs to sleep. Breakfast quantity good, quality average. Staff very friendly. Nearly value for money but £50 a night would be about right.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked the resolution via a cheap groupon deal and thought that it would be just that.

Well initially we were marginally disappointed by the room although it was very clean It was quite basic but for the price was entirely acceptable.

Now we had a little wander around Whitby, bought a few gifts and generally pottered about and wandered down to the pub just down the road where there was a live band who were excellent with a lovely cask ale on hand.

So to the best bit, we went downstairs to the new restaurant with its stylish decor and fancy scroll menus the look was promising. So after the briefest of scans we both chose a scallops to start, a steak to follow and an assiett of desserts (extra charge). Now I've had some fine dining experiences including the Connaught and I have to say for the price this would compete on so many levels. The steak was cooked to perfection, the scallops perfect (although nowhere enough of them) and the desserts beautifully crafted and presented.

The whole place had not one wiff of pretence and benefitted from it too. We were so impressed with the food we asked to stay another night at the same rate and to our delight we were accommodated. The second night we tried a couple of other dishes and we weren't disappointed. The only drawback is the restaurant is in the basement without ventilation presently so we were engulfed with fumes the second night. This is due to be resolved shortly we are assured.

The second night we asked to move to another room as the bed was ridiculously hard, we were moved to a standard room where they were renovating the floor (hence the groupon probably) and the bed was overly firm but a world better.

So overall excellent food, friendly and accommodating staff and acceptable rooms that were clean and more than adequate . I wouldn't hesitate to visit again subject to the price of course!

Oh I best mention the breakfast, very good overall, the only fault was the sausage was a little odd tasting and probably not as good a quality as the rest of the breakfast which was a buffet cold selection with a cooked a la carte cooked choice too. Overall very good quality.

The second day saw us visit the excellent selection (somewhat overpriced) retro (junk) shops where you could pick up a 1070's dress and a coffee percolator should you wish.

A great destination that you need to visit. Nice clean beaches and a good choice of fish and chips etc on the front.

Apologies if I've missed a section this was written on a phone so do please excuse.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

booked this last minute,all rooms are located above a large bar and is a 5 minute walk into the center of Whitby . we were in room 309 which was on the 3rd floor( lift available )..the view was fantastic !!the room was good/clean and warm !! some of the reviews have mentioned noise when there is live music playing but we didn't hear anything !!..the only noise we heard was from the room next door ..shower/toilet/fan .
breakfast was good with hot and cold options available . there is limited car parking on the road as it is restricted to a hour but 5 minute walk round the corner near the park there is free on road parking
all staff were lovely and helpful and check in was done with no fuss
had a lovely relaxing break

Room Tip: higher rooms have a better scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was expecting the sound insulation to be poor, it was. The Alpen was OK for breakfast (!), the full English that followed was barely warm and inedible, so I left it. Handy for central Whitby, free on-street parking not too far away. Room not too expensive.
My rating is average because the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgrade4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#9 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing