We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel in the centre of Whitby”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel in the centre of Whitby”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just got back from staying at the Resolution for one night. Given that this is a budget hotel, I thought it was great value for money with a voucher we had.
It's very well positioned, in the heart of the town, with a lift, large bar area, and a separate bar downstairs.
The staff were fabulous - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful, hot, a good variety and filling. It was included in the price of the deal along with a bottle of wine on arrival - excellent value.
We had an evening meal here which was good. Portions were generous and the service was prompt. I think the menu is a bit limited - burgers and other pub fayre, but it's well priced and convenient.
There was also free wifi in the public areas, which is great! Some budget hotel chains - take note!

My only observations are that the room we were in could have done with a bit more TLC. It looked as though the wallpaper had recently been replaced, but there was still a stain on the wall which looked like it came from a leak in the room above. The bathroom needed some updating too (the bath panel was cracked and old, some of the tiles were cracked and the shower curtain really needed replacing). Budget hotel or not, these things matter. We had the Captain's Room with a four poster bed, which was lovely. Some curtains to hide the nuts and bolts on the canopy would have been a nice touch. However, it was a spacious room with a CD Player, plenty of tea and coffee, and the bottle of wine was very welcome!
All in all, a great budget place to stay.

Room Tip: The Captain's Room is quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaqueenBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    428
    206
    57
    44
See reviews for
91
730
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very comfortable rooms the staff are friendly and welcoming,the bar is reasonably priced for Whitby and the food is great.you are 2 minutes from the centre of the town,down hill going but up hill back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked a short stay in Whitby for 2 nights. Hotel is centrally located for the Railway Station/Bus station. Arrived early receptionist allowed us to leave our luggage which saved us lugging it around Whitby. Hotel very clean breakfast was served in the main lounge and you could help yourself to hot or cold food. The food itself was good . We had room 309 which delivered wonderful views of Whitby but more importantly an excellent view of Whitby Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and friends grabbed the KGB overnight deal with the free bottle of wine. The Resolution is right in the heart of wonderful Whitby, and we were lucky to grab the third floor rooms (307 & 308) with spectacular views. We spent the day exploring the town and ate traditional Haddock at Mr Chips, recommended, in the evening. Upon our return to the hotel we decided to have a night cap in the basement bar - what a night. We danced the night away to a Soul and Mowtown disco, which we were told was on every Saturday evening - fab night! The sun streamed through the room as we awoke for a very hearty full English breakie. We would recommend this hotel, for position, value and great entertainment. The sun shone too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very enjoyable stay helped by the staff who were very polite and attentive at all times.
Good quality food for breakfast and an evening meal when we took our kgb complimentary bottle of wine.
Great view of the town from our third floor room
Directions spot on for the car park, though rather than pay the £8 for 48 hours, we paid 40p for the overnight charge until 8am in the morning, there was then ample space in roads only a couple of minutes from hotel where car could be parked for remainder of stay.
There are plenty of other hotels and b&bs near this street parking but I would recommend the Resolution for being closer to the town centre and bridge to east side of town.

Room Tip: Top floor facing Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athomas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is buried away in a part of Whitby in the middle of council controlled land where parking is a problem BUT hidden up a narrow side street is a car park. Let me do the good stuff first. Friendly staff and very helpful, a lovely room [204] with a great view and an inspired window, very well furnished, plenty of coffee and milk and a comfy bed. Shower brilliant and masses of instant hot water. The breakfast is very self service but, apart from the orange juice, very good especially the bacon. The chef is talented... first evening meal was very good, homemade tartare sauce especially, second evening meal also good and there are offers on eating there..

So what is there not to like? Not much. The downstairs decor is dated in the bar and dining areas and needs a caring hand. Musak is not to everyone's taste including mine. Whitby is an "upmarket" Blackpool [apologies for treading on toes] so do not expect culture. But it has lots of lovely things going on!!!

Would I come back? Probably. To be realistic parking is always an issue in towns and is more of an expensive nuisance.

Oh, this place was really clean. The tables and rooms are very clean; that says a lot about staff and management.

Well done! [Now get rid of that drab dark blue in the bar]

Room Tip: Room 204 is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we bought a kgb deal,arrived stacey on reception was lovely ,accomodating,and informative,clean tidy bar area,restaurant,reception area,quick lift to all rooms,our room very clean,nice ensuite modern,bed not too comfy,bit too firm,very thin stud wall between rooms could here other guests,flush toilets,run water,talking,alarm clocks going off as if in same room.we stayed in room 109,3rd floor would be quieter on a corner staff told us,apart from that lovely stay,brill 80s nite with dj,buffet fresh breakfast,staff brilliant couldnt do enough.

Room Tip: 3rd floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anny998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing