We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and a great location”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband, myself and our son and daughter (aged 20 and 18) had a 3 night midweek stay at this hotel and really enjoyed it. We stayed in the only apartment in the hotel which is described as 5 bedded, but it actually had 7 beds in two bedrooms, one HUGE room with 5 beds and one very good sized room with 2 beds. There was also a bathroom with bath and shower and a kitchen which is in need of a little TLC, there are no plates, cutlery, kitchen equipment. etc. although we didn't need these as we ate out, but there is a kettle and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. There are plenty of towels provided, as well as shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser and a hairdrier. Everything is very clean and we had a great view over the harbour and Whitby Abbey. The bar and restaurant area is lovely and we enjoyed an excellent meal on our second night which is highly recommended. Although there is no parking at the hotel, the receptionist directed us to a car park only a minute up the road. The hotel is very well located for sightseeing in Whitby, the staff are really friendly and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goose1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Resolution Hotel is a budget, town centre hotel ideal as a centre for sight seeing Whitby as almost everything is within walking distance. Book one of the Rooms with a View higher up in the building; top floor if you can. The only problem we had was the early morning seagull chorus, but from that there is 0 escape in a seaside town & not the fault of the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast which was simple but filling but we didn’t eat at the hotel as we wanted to sample something different in Whitby, only being there for a weekend.
There are very few hotels or B&B’s with parking within the centre but the staff were very helpful & found us somewhere very reasonable and safe within 1 minutes walk. Good value, comfortable & clean, it was just what we needed.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for one Saturday night with a group of friends,(there were 24 of us ) at the Resolution Hotel in Whitby on the July 28th 2012.The rooms,although a bit on the small side, were excellent, comfortable and clean .Some of the rooms had lovely views of Whitby Abbey.We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the buffet style breakfast next morning was superb. (eat as much as you like).The Hotel is very noisey and lively in the evening,with loud music and a live group playing until midnight.So if you expect a quiet hotel in the evening, forget staying here.All our group enjoyed staying at the Hotel and we will certainly be staying here again sometime in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: One with a view of the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smudgerBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Arrived at hotel and parking was not easy - but then the hotel makes no bones about this and it is in the heart of Whitby. The reception was uninspiring, the hotel is in the throes of renovation and the reception area is clearly somewhat down the list of priorities. We were asked to pay for our entire stay "up front" before we had seen the room - something which set the alarm bells jangling for me. I asked to see the room first. It was basically a tired but re-vamped old room. We had some reservations about staying but we were tired from our journey and wanted to change and go out for the evening. I enquired about the room rate again (I had genuinely forgotten what the rate was) and when it was confirmed I felt that the room just did not warrant that sort of money - even though the location is very good in Whitby.

As it turned out another couple who had double booked were waiting for cancellations and we were happy to go to alternative accommodation that had been sourced by the very helpful manageress. So we never got to stay in the hotel - so not quite a visit.

With some money for renovation this could be a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GCTHOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were pre warned about the parking ! The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were very welcoming , the room very clean and tidy ,a little stuffy could not open the window more than an inch due to silly health .n safety laws ,the position of this hotel for some will not be ideal because of the hike to the top of the hill , but go a little further and the views are worth it . Breakfast was a delight and one of the better ones you will experience , well done ! We will stop here again . Overall top marks well done

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markowen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

my husband and i have just stayed in the resolution hotel in whitby . We stayed for 1 night and wished we could of stayed longer .Its so central to the harbour and pubs and restaurants the hotel is part of a bar which was really nice the staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean with authentic features .The breakfast was buffet style its was lovely lots of choice and good quality food . We will definitely stay there again it cost us £59 last minute booking and well worth it .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at the Resolution on 7th July for my 50th Bithday with 29 friends, (15 couples). The rooms were excellent, the staff were friendly and helpfull, the Vault bar was superb particularly on the evening where they had music playing till the early hours and which was open to anyone but only seemed to attract a more pleasant clientele.
The location of the hotel is good and the breakfast was faultless.
We will definitely be returning and would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R33sey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing