We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My rating reflects the price paid and value for money. The room was spacious, beds fine with good linen,plentiful towels and toiletries and a shower with piping hot water..something that cannot be claimed by more up market establishments.Breakfast was self service and,again, at the price was very good. The chef offered freshly cooked eggs (for the runny yolk!!)..and yes they were spot on. Plentiful toast, a large pot of tea with more on offer and helpful service. So, why was the last comment such a nit picking moan? We paid,as they would do, £49.00 for the room and breakfast and were well happy as Skinner Street and Flower Street are slap bang in Whitby.Maybe the post I have just read was comparing The Resolution to a status hotel in The Shires. I defy anyone to get a decent b&b anywhere for this price and state that they have had great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Having read reviews prior to booking I am afraid they do not portray the true picture.The room was below average and the mattress was terrible and uncomfortable.The breakfasts were uninspiring with the bacon etc overcooked.With regards to the bar/lounge this was more akin to a dance venue.I regret I am unable to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taff1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A group of us have just spent a couple of wonderful days in Whitby. The Resolution Hotel is ideally situated, very friendly and clean. The breakfast was buffet style but everything was fresh and hot and plenty of choice. Lovely fresh fruit and yoghurt and cereals and toast also available. Will definately return. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening so can not comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnCMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Excellent value for money. Stayed for 2 nights with a party of 3 couples , in 3 double rooms. Have been here previously and it has improved greatly. The buffet breakfast was excellent. I was a bit apprehensive as thought it would be cold or that there may be little choice. Pleasantly surprised as it was lovely. The staff were helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank mucker1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We celebrated our wedding in whitby on may fifth and had our meal after the ceremony at Resolution. The food was fantastic and great value for money. The head chef came out to talk to us about the food the night before as we had only just booked the place the same night. We can not praise him highly enough. The staff are amazing and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The room was very clean and spacious with a flat screen tv, desk by the window, plenty of tea and coffee and a safe in the wardrobe. We didn't eat dinner there but it looked very reasonably priced. The breakfast was buffet style but was nice and hot. It was right next to the start of the shops, and a nice walk through Whitby to the seafront. The only complaint I would have was that the beds were seriously lumpy. However we didn't complain (we only stayed one night) so they never had the chance to offer us a different room or anything. They were very prompt and helpful and probably would have if we'd asked. We paid £25pp and would most certainly stay again for that price.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmerahlFires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Resolution Hotel :)
Lovely friendly staff, clean presentable rooms with LCD tv and tea n coffee making facilities.
The food was excellent! For Evening meal we had steak, as it was steak night ( Which was great value) they came with homemade chunky chips, salad and choice of flavoured butter .
Breakfast was superb... Buffet style with choice of full English, cerial, fruit, toast . Absolutely cracking set us up for the day :)
Will be visiting again soon, probably on a Friday or Saturday to enjoy some of the live music they have in most weeks.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Csayeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $57 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing