We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheeldale
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
southend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Recently enjoyed a three night stay.Room large and comfy with good facilities.Owners and staff friendly and helpful.Pleasant 10 minute walk into town.Would thouroughly recommend,especially the full English breakfast-thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    97
    39
    7
    13
See reviews for
25
282
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Myself and my wife had a 2 night stay, and it was a late booking,
We were shown to room 11, part of what looked like a reasonably new extension,
The room was airey and spacious, with an amazing en-suite bathroom, a very comfortable bed, and large screen hd tv with access to ALL Sky channels (at no extra charge) downstairs they had a more than formidable breakfast room and a very comfortable lounge with lots of amenities.
The breakfast was very generous with coffee/tea and toast on free flow they also had limited off road parking which was helpful.
Located on the North promenade overlooking Whitby Abbey and a sea view to the Front with Whitby cricket club to the back it was easy to reach all the local amenities within about 5 mins by car.
We would very highly recommend the Wheeldale to our family and friends.

Room Tip: They all appeared good, the rooms with sea views were more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelots69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited from Australia in May 2013. What a lovely place to stay, the owners were very helpful, rooms are excellent. Lovely lounge area downstairs and we made good use of the honour bar fridge. The full english breakfast is a must have. Thank you Peter, Rebecca and family for a wonderful stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staindrop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have spent another enjoyable weekend at the Wheeldale. It is ideally placed on the West Cliff as it's just a short stroll down to the beach or a bit longer stroll into town. The breakfast was better than ever - if that's possible! The owners and staff are lovely; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and have all you could wish for in terms of power shower, TV, kettle with more than adequate supply of coffee, tea, etc. Give it a try - I'm sure you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 this time, which is a bit bigger than Room 1 - no real view from the window, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnivalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'd like to say thank you to Peter Coleman, Rebecca Coleman & family; staff and pets for making me feel welcomed during my 4 night stay in May 2013. The accommodation was very comfortable, luxurious and perfectly spotless. Additionally, the hospitality is outstanding with everyone at the Wheeldale being very obliging & striving to do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. In contrast to other B&B's, I found this accommodation very cheap with the return service to be high quality & excellent . This guest accommodation is literally on the promenade, and a 3-minute walk away from the beach. I give this accommodation and excellent 10/10, and will return next year quite happily.

Room Tip: •Rooms on the south side are quieter, very luxurious and perfectly spotless •Corner suites are larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights over the holiday weekend. It's a great little place, we had a good sized room with a lovely sea view, there was also a large and very clean bathroom. Breakfast one of the best ever in a small hotel, they serve quality local sausages which were much better than the usual "catering" type! Breakfast service was a a bit rushed - breakfast finishes at 9am, which is a little early if you are looking for a relaxed weekend break! A place I'd definitely go back to, regardless, though a later 10am breakfast finish would make the experience perfect...

Room Tip: Go for the sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday. We parked on the road outside as the car park was full which was fine. Warm welcome from staff. Stayed in room 2 which had been converted to a double from a twin at my request. Comfy bed, loads of room. Ensuite spotlessly clean. No view from the window but that was fine as I wasn't planning on being in the room looking out the window when I could be stood on the beach.
Loved the sitting room with tea and coffee, snacks and the honesty fridge. Plenty of DVDs to watch on a rainy day too.
Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked. A variety of cereal was available as were fruit, fruit juices and yoghurt. If you didn't want a full English there were lighter alternatives. I had poached egg on toast which was no trouble. Lots of toast and tea and coffee.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginga4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxonville Hotel
Saxonville Hotel
#11 of 20 in Whitby
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Property: The Wheeldale
Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing