We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Wheeldale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheeldale
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and me girlfriend stayed at the wheeldale and thought the stay was great the room was very clean and new.would deff go back when our baby arrives.the cuppa was of a high standard and the sausage really good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19dunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the positive review.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    98
    40
    7
    13
See reviews for
25
286
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Second stay at the Wheeldale, same room No4, fantastic sea view,spotless,comfortable bed,huge bathroom, great breakfast.Reality check, o.k. parking can be a problem however despite Hotel being full & getting blocked in a couple of times, cars are usually moved around just after breakfast so that anybody needing to leave/go out for the day can. We can honestly say apart from that this hotel couldn't be faulted. Excellent stay many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for the very positive feedback,we hope to see you again soon.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband & I booked in for 2 nights at The Wheeldale. Thankgoodness we had used my BMW compact car to travel in and not my husband's Jag, otherwise we would never have been able to park at the B&B. I would not call this a hotel.
The breakfast was of good quality and the room acceptable. I thought we had picked 2 bad days for the owners because we found them not at their happiest towards their guests... when they did aknowledge our existance..but having read these reviews it seems its a problem thats ongoing that they must address, sooner rather than later. The Wheeldale is not somewhere we would choose to stay at again, although its only fair to say we found it to be a decent value for money charged venue.

Room Tip: Advise you ask about space available and mention what size car you will be using. Its like sardines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sioux1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for your comments,on the positive side decent value for money charged.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Wheeldale.The room no. 11 was lovely,very clean& very spacious.Super bathroom, as I love a bath as well as a shower & spotlessly clean too.
The breakfast was fantastic,(the mushrooms were to die for) every thing you could wish for if you chose to eat a three/four course breakfast.Lovely sea view from the dining room.
Owners so friendly & very helpful,nothing was a bother.
Car park small but we parked on the road which was not a problem as a quiet road.
Honesty bar in lounge if you fancy a drink or snack.
Altogether a great place to stay for a break in Whitby.I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magpies66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Again thankyou for the very positive feedback.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Myself and my family have just arrived back from a couple of nights stay at the Wheedale and loved it!! On arrival we were warmly greeted and although parking was limited we were fortunate enough to grab a spot (although I could see an issue with regards to parking in high season should you not be able to park on the hotel forecourt as the main road parking gets really busy quite early on in the day). We had the family room (£90 per night including breakfast) which is a new build on the rear of the property which overlooked the cricket field of Whitby CC (it's just a shame there wasn't a game on as we would have had a prime spot!).On entering the room it was absolutely spotless and you could smell the newness of the room.It had one large room which doubled up as the main bedroom (it had the full Sky+ HD package displayed on an impressive 42" LCD TV ),a spacious free standing wardrobe,a very comfy double bed and a couple of decent chairs.Tea/coffee/hot chocolate options were also available on entrance.Off to the right at the bottom of the room was another separate bedroom with twin beds,a smaller portable size LCD TV and a DVD player (my daughters loved this room which gave them some much needed privacy),however curiously non of the keys provided opened the double patio doors which were present in this room,although it was not a major issue.At the top end of the main room off to the right was a lovely spacious bathroom complete with the fantastic added bonus of having a whirlpool bath added(and after a long hot day in the sun it was very much appreciated!!)I just had a couple of slight issues with the room,firstly there is a green low glow light that sits on the ceiling in the centre of the main room (some sort of detector )which takes a little getting used to when you are nodding off.Also you get the whoosh of the noise of water from the waterworks from the above room when either the sink or toilet is being used which can be slightly annoying if you have an early riser above you.Finally non of our several media appliances would connect to the WiFi router (we got the faintest of faint signals but were unable to connect anything),but if you have 3G or GPS it's not much of an issue,there is afterall a PC that all guests can use in the main lounge. As mentioned there is no bar however there is a very well stocked fridge.Breakfast was superb!! A full English was my weapon of choice and was all of very good produce,toast was also plentiful as were the other options of cereal,jams,juices,tees and coffee (both freshly brewed).
I thought the Wheeldale was well situated just far enough from the hustle and bustle of the main quayside area,but not too far away and allows you to take in the beautiful coastline and surrounding scenery.Also situated close by was a 9 hole pitch and putt,a large paddling pool and an original Arnold Palmer crazy golf course.The seashore pavillion is also situated nearby.
Would me and my family stay at the Wheeldale again? A resounding YES.Would we recommend it to friends and family? ABSOLUTELY
Well done!

Room Tip: The family room is superb quality and value and is situated at the rear of the hotel away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Many Thanks for the positive comments.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stopped for one night in July. The room was fine with a good sized bathroom and strong shower. Breakfast was the Full Monty if you wanted with lighter options. I had a problem receiving the wi-fi signal and the owner was very helpful in sorting out the problem. The car park is small but there is plenty of free on-street parking. The lounge has great views and a well stocked fridge. Recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaiowl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments much appreciated.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just back from an enjoyable stay at the Wheeldale Hotel.I would class here as a guest house rather than a hotel but it's first class.Parking is a bit of an issue as not a lot of parking space,especially if the hotel is busy.We were offered a choice of two rooms both were really nice,one was a new build at the back of the hotel we opted for the one at the front with a sea view which was on two levels,the bedroom on one level with a seating area on the other.bathrooms on each level,really clean and nicely furnished.Owners and staff really friendly and helpful,Doesn't have a bar but a well stocked fridge which you help yourself to and pay for on your departure.Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 o'clock so don't expect too much of a lie in.Very tasty breakfast worth getting up for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELBOY160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterColeman, Owner at The Wheeldale, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thanks very much for your positive comments.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,115 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheeldale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheeldale

Property: The Wheeldale
Address: 11 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheeldale 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheeldale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeldale Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing