We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We really enjoyed our stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Easter Morn

View out of up stairs dormer window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View out of up stairs dormer window
upstairs bedroom down stairs twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
21 reviews
View out of up stairs dormer window
upstairs bedroom
down stairs twin bedroom
lounge
newly crazy paved yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT BOOK THIS COTTAGE”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival at the cottage, my husband, myself and our Labrador were dismayed to find we had to carry all our luggage up very steep stone steps (due to there being no parking facilities) to the cottage. The stone steps leading up to the cottage was twice covered in human urine ( there was a club situated nearby and it's customers ( who were all pissed) would urinate on the steps. There was rubbish littered all over the bottom of the steps. We felt in need of oxygen and feared having a heart attack once we had reached the top and that included Alfie the dog!

Once inside of the cottage we were confronted with a filthy kitchen - and I use the term 'kitchen' very loosely - the cooking utensils and kettle were greasy and dirty. Cooking in that kitchen would have made a bushtucker trial seem appealing. Just making a cup of tea was a feat in itself as I had to boil anything I used before I felt I could drink from any cup.

The shower room was horrendous and no, I am not being OTT here. I did not want to brush my teeth from the grimy taps, The bedrooms, well, I can not find any words to describe them. Needless to say, we cut our break short and came back home. We felt dirty and distressed that we had to actually sleep there. I still keep checking my skin for any signs of scabies!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: coming home
Liked least: staying there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2015
You were asked if things were ok and was told that they were. We do mention about the steps and also state that the cottage is not suitable if you have walking difficulties. We have over 60% rebooks on that cottage and you can read about 200 testimonials on our Facebook page. The people that followed in are here for the 6th time this year, the people before you have booked for next year. We welcome pets and ask that you clear away pet hairs we spent 2 hours removing dog hairs when you left. We are sorry that you not happy with the cleanliness of the cottage if you had complained on your arrival we would have given you a full refund if you did not wish stop
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazyf
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I wouldn't recommend this cottage to any of my family or friends. It wasn't very clean and smelt of cigarettes. The walk up the steps to the cottage wasn't very enjoyable as men were usually standing at the bottom drinking and smoking. There was a constant 24/7 hum from the air conditioner from the near by club which also sent a stream of fat cooking smells up to the cottage. The "garden " wasn't a garden it was full of rubbish and broken glass which I had to clear up before my dogs could go in it.
But if you smoke and enjoy the smell of cooking fat go for it !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: the steps
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We felt that the Cottage had an authentic fisherman's cottage feel to it, if you are looking for luxury it isn't for you, but if want a cosy base very handily situated indeed then I'd recommend it. Access up some stone steps is no problem, one of our party has a knee problem and she found it perfectly ok. John was kind enough to sort out some wi-fi for us. Had a lovely time in Whitby and the N Yorks Moors

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, excellent position, home from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Had a smashing holiday in Easter Morn cottage with 3 school age children, cottage very comfy and cosy, homely and in a perfect position to explore Whitby from. Jean and John were friendly and helpful. Would recommend using the parking on offer with the cottage for convenience and value for money. Cottage is literally in the heart of Whitby but you wouldn't know it because it's so quiet- even in August holidays.
The kids had been so excited to stay in a cottage and we weren't disappointed, just a lovely lovely holiday- perfect seaside retreat.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya L
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whitby wonderful - Accomodation Adequate”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

John (the Owner) was very friendly and quick to offer help when we experienced problems with our parking space as we had booked a medium space and arrived to find we had been given a small space which the car struggled to fit into. The cottage itself is built into the available space which gives it lots of character, however space is limited, we were lucky as there was only 3 of us but I dread to think if we'd tried to squeeze 6 of us in there. Previous reviews indicate the cottage is in need of a deep clean???? Pots were a bit dusty in the kitchen as they are sat on an open shelf, but I always wash anything in a self catering apartment before using anyway regardless of how clean it looks. The only real fault we found with the kitchen was the toaster (which was un-usable and really needs thrown out), but we simply used the grill instead. The rest of the cottage was reasonably clean, and everything you really need is available. One of the sofas is in need of a deep scrub or throwing out (this may be due to someones pet having an accident as these are animal friendly holiday homes)but we sprayed it with febreze and covered it with a throw from upstairs and it was comfortable enough. I forgot, but meant to mention to John that the exterior light is not working and is really essential at night due to the precarious steps. so check this is working if you visit. I feel we got what we paid for and some of the previous reviewers were perhaps expecting 4 star luxury for 2 star prices??? I do however think the property description online could do with updating as there is NO garden here....there is a very very small concreted area with 2 bins in it and not even a chair to sit on. Also information sent out to renters is also out of date as we were sent a map telling us access to the cottage means driving over one of these pillars in the ground which required us to enter a code( we were told this code would be on the pillar) it was not and we did not know whether to drive over it or not...we ended up with many cars behind us and just took a chance...it was fine....however it annoyed us that when we told John he laughed and said it hadn't worked in 5 years???!!! Really!!??
All in all we had a lovely week and if you plan on spending most of your time outdoors, why spend more than you have to. Bedding was fresh, beds were comfortable and the bathroom although small was adequate. Just don't expect more than what you pay for. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The toaster
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen J
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable week adequate accomodation!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is situated on the cliffside above Pier Road, and is at most 10 minutes walk from the bus or train station. We arrived by bus and John very kindly met us with his van to transport our luggage to the cottage and also he gave us a hand up with it. He also made sure we had the phone number for his mobile in case of any problems.

Access to the cottage is up some steep steps, I notice in the advert it states over 20 steps up from The Cragg, but what they fail to say is that the Cragg itself is over 20 steps up from the main road, so to get to the cottage one needs to climb 43 steep, badly maintained steps covered in leaves which are slippy when wet. Some of the steps are also pretty uneven which makes it even more difficult.

The cottage is small, but well designed and although the sink is behind the kitchen door it is not a problem, as a previous review suggests and neither is the shower being so close to the toilet. The space is in fact well used. The shower is small but efficient and seemed clean as did all of the bathroom.

The lounge has two sofa beds, both of which have seen better days, and are not particularly comfortable to sit on or indeed sleep on. The two single beds in the room next to the lounge are ok. The lounge also has a gate leg folding table and six folding dining chairs. The table is fine, but some of the chairs seemed a little rickety and we feared they may collapse.

The upper bedroom is quite large, but one has to be very careful not to bang heads on various beams and abutments. The double bed is adequate, but could do with a better mattress. Drawers were clean, and the lamps each side of the bed were useful. Plenty of sockets too.The wardrobe was a little strange and I didn't use it.

Access to the top room was via a very tight spiral stair with one step at a different height to the others which was somewhat disconcerting. Each step tapered to little more than an inch at the narrowest from six inches at widest which was also difficult.

The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, but fairly basic. Microwave and fridge were clean but pots and pans were not and also the large frying pan was flaking it's teflon coating. I have in fact just thrown away a pan in better condition. All the glasses needed washing as did the crockery and cutlery.

The cottage was relatively clean but the lounge furniture seemed to exude dust from beneath the cushions. The vacuum cleaner worked fine, but smelled terribly of wet dogs! The TV and DVD player were fine, and despite what someone else said they didn't really need a manual to find out how to work them. For those who have no idea, the DVD player is located at the right hand side of the TV behind the screen and is a DVD sized slot. You need to first change the source on the TV to DVD, using the source button on the remote. Then introduce the DVD label facing towards you as you face the screen, and gently insert till the player sucks the DVD in.

The little yard is very small and again up steps from the kitchen door. It could do with some tidying and could be made really nice.

On the whole it was a cheap weeks holiday there in adequate warm conditions with minor disconforts. As it was really just used as a base to sleep and eat it served well although we had one wet day when we spent quite a lot of time there. There is no WiFi at the cottage, but BT Fon is accessible and works at about 500mbs, so fairly slow, but I could stream cricket and Netflix without problem.

There is a pub quite close to the cottage and they have "music" on a saturday night which is quite loud in the top room, but finishes at 11:30pm. If you like that sort of thing, John informed me that the beer is only £1-70 a pint and is probably worth it to hear "Hi Ho Silver Lining" sung in three separate keys at the same time.

Whitby is a lovely place to visit and the cottage is well situated for the bus and train and also for all the amenities and sights of Whitby. John and Jean seemed very helpful and we thank them for a lovely week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness of cottage to beach and amenities and the view.
Liked least: Sinking in the settee
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't book”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Getting to the cottage was a challenge, not very accessible having over 40 steep stone steps that even the fit young adults in early 20's found hard work!
Found the accommodation very dirty throughout with chipped plates, a dirty teacloth, and a bed settee that if you sat on it, dips at an acute angle.
Glad we brought our own cooking equipment, wouldn't have been able to reach theirs as high above the cupboards and things in the cupboards were dirty and greasy. The kitchen tap was behind the main door to the cottage.
There was no instruction about TV, couldn't find DVD player and the video player was jammed.
The stairs to the main bedroom not much better than a fireman's pole! Inside the wardrobe upstairs was an old sock covered in dust and broken coat hangers. the rug was covered in dog hairs which stuck to our clothes. the upstairs became very warm at night but couldn't open windows as locked.
The advert said about a small garden area, this was just a small outside bit for the bins that could have done with being cleaned up. not enough room to swing a cat!
Found it very hard to sleep at night due to the boiler that made awful noises and after 5.30am the sea gulls wouldn't shut up!
Put a brave front on it, but was so disgusting, I had to leave half way through because I felt dirty. And don't bank on Paypal to back you up, because they won't help you get your money back. I lost loads of money in petrol travelling somewhere that made me feel grateful to come back home. Basic is not the word to describe this place. If you have a good imagination, you might be able to manage it, but I wouldn't bank on it.
Only if you like insanitary conditions or a challenge would this be the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: going home
Liked least: staying inside the cottage
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing