We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Green Man

lounge/kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge/kitchen
top bedroom middle bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
13 reviews
lounge/kitchen
top bedroom
middle bedroom
kitchen/lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlii65...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We came to stay with my parents for a couple of days when they booked this place for the week. I have a 4 year old and a 3 month old. Safe to say I never put the 3 month old down, the floor is that dirty! I didn't even want to put his play mat on it! It smells damp, we mopped the floor and the water was black bright! The rug I've taken a photo off needs binning! Discusting! The bunk bed my daughter was sleeping in, had the side panel snapped off, all graffiti written on the slats which were also broken. Dust all behind the beds, the place had never seen a vacuum in years! Sofa bed broken, settee looks as old as the rug! AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
I was away when this review came in I am now back in Whitby and have spoken to the couple that are staying in the Green Man and they assure in that every thing is fine and that they had no visitors and they have even booked to stop some extra days
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rezzer200...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Went to visit my sister and brother in law for the day,thank god we weren't staying over,first impressions were,it's dark,smelly,and dirty,bathroom clean and bedding clean but kitchen/living area left a lot to be desired,to be honest I've thrown better in a skip

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
I was away when this review came in I am now back in Whitby and have spoken to the couple that are staying in the Green Man and they assure in that every thing is fine and that they had no visitors and they have even booked to stop some extra days
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanA847...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I expect a basic standard.
A couple of problems which owner was made aware of.
The offer of free nights will not be taken, although location was good and pet friendly.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
thank you for review and as far as I am aware we have solved the problems that you mentioned to us
The people that followed you in were really happy with the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulthomp...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Having booked at short notice and location thought brilliant . Upon arrival met at loading bay to unload car and dog then parked in car park space provided. Short walk back to cottage. 1st impressions I thought how quirky it was and location of it couldn't be any better. Walk through the door and the fusty smell hits you. Note on Wall saying please leave it clean and tidy when we leave!!!! Made me chuckle. Dust covering most things. Found old bottles under bed with old tissues. Electric extension cables hung down from TV in bedroom, these being pat tested but 4 months out of date. The socket the extension was plugged into coming off the wall.
The shower bathroom ( having read on a previous comment it had 4000 spent on it and had a previous leak) was still leaking. The radiator was also leaking and hanging off the wall.
Stairs dangerous having slipped down them. Hand rails on stairs loose. 1 of them attached to a panel that moves. Accident waiting to happen.. I would not trust these stairs with children about.
Was overall dirty and grubby in real need of attention.
I never complain about things normally but really need this to be aired.
Whitby is a lovely place and the weather was better than expected but this put a damper on things.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Sorry you were not happy with the cottage we did text you on arrival to see if everything was OK, again you were asked before you left and again you didn't say anything was wrong. we only live next door and could have sorted out 70% these complaints immediately, we certainly needed to know if the shower was leaking because this can only happen when the shower is used, we didn't see any leak on the radiator but if it is in fact leaking we will get the plumber back we will ask the people that are in to check for us.
we do get over 60% re-books on this cottage with one family coming for over 20 years
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georginar...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Was so glad we booked this cottage for our stay in whitby. The location is perfect... Near to all amenities!

The cottage itself is cosy and quaint... Maybe a little updating is needed on some of the facilities and decor but that is a minor snag and wouldnt stop me from visiting again!

All essentials for self catering are provided... Pots, pans, glasses, mugs, kettle, toaster, oven.. Everything you need!

Would defo recommend

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtnryv...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage close to the heart of whitby”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean tidy cottage close to the heart if Whitby. Friendly people. Accepts dogs. Value for money. Cottage has lots of usefylk things to use also access to washing machines.

Date of stay: February 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnKP
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Grear stay during a stormy cold weekend. The cottage was warm and cosy all weekend and had everything we need. Bed was comfortable, didnt notice any noise. we found it quiet. The decor won't be to everyone taste but for £25 pppn I dont expect cream carpets or granite worktops. It was clean enough, the shower room looked new and everything worked. I would certainly return and recommend

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2015
Thank you I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing