We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Whitby Getawat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seagull Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindendry...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whitby Getawat”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A great little cottage. Perfectly located in Whitby to see all. Being there out of season was great as parking can be a bit of an issue in a very popular town.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you for the review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugargirl...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Seagull Cottage is in an amazing location in Whitby, about 5 minuites walk from the train station and local attractions. The cottage is stunning. Extremely comfortable, well equipped, clean and has lots of nice touches. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable. Have already recommended to family and friends. Thank you Seagull Cottage for a wonderful stay......We will be back. Stayed from 7.10.16 to 10.10.16.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Wow... what a wonderful review... thank you so much :)
I have a wonderful team of cleaners so I cannot take all the credit and will definitely pass on your comments to them. Look forward to you visiting again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynWs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage. Very clean and well equipped. Can't fault the cottage itself but the steps leading to it spoiled it. I think they would be very slippery in winter and anyone not confident on their feet would find it a little distressing.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
A lot of time and effort goes into making sure my cottage is well presented at all times and correctly advertised. Such advert includes that the cottage is not suitable for guests with mobility issues. The Oxford Dictionaries definition of distressing is ' to cause anxiety, sorrow or pain '. None of these apply to the steps leading up to my cottage. Very disappointed by your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madamemim...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed last month with my daughter and nieces it really is a lovely cottage can't fault it, the reason i gave location a 3 is because i stay in whitby every year and im use to waking up to seeing the sea so that is my opinion if the location do t let it put you off, however it is very close to everything confusing to find at first and no good for girls who like to wear heels as there are lots and lots if steps before the steps it shows on the pictures so we had to get our flats out. The flat has dehumidifiers and the fill up very quickly and are quite noisy so best to leave them off when your in .

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2016
Thank you for the review. Sorry you were disappointed with the location, however the cottage is not advertised as having a sea view. The dehumidifier is more as a precaution to stop the build up of moisture in such an old property. As explained in the welcome book you are welcome to keep it turned off during your stay. We all have different standards and expectations and it is really important to read the description of the property carefully before booking to make sure it meets your requirements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin_smo...
Derbys
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a great cottage it's credit to the owner who has thought of everything to make it a home from home it has a really relaxed feel to it. The location of the cottage is perfect only five minutes walk to the hustle and bustle of the town and ten if that to the beach. The kids loved the added touches like the PlayStation in the top room and we loved the fact the cottage is far enough away from the town to be calm and relaxing but close enough not to have to use my car all week (result),the other added bonus was the little suntrap attached to the side of the cottage. Overall a really relaxing time was had by all including the dog and the only bad point as my son said was "I don't want to go home can I stay here" which said it all for me.
So we will defiantly be back next year.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Look forward to welcoming you back next year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graftonfr...
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were pleased to get a partial week rental and absolutely loved the cottage! It is a beautifully renovated cottage in an ideal location. Sharan was excellent to work with.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you so much for this great review. Much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazdaz76
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab, fab , fab”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved every minute, great location,clean lovely cottage comfy beds. Steps are hard to get up with shopping and luggage but that's only a little thing and don't forget loo rolls like we did! Wish I was back there x

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. Hope you return soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing