We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beuatifully rennovated house, excellent location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seagull Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kay M
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beuatifully rennovated house, excellent location”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Three of us stayed at this house in October, myself my partner and his mother who has issues with mobility. The house is in a great location within easy walking distance of the train station. Parking is a bit of an issue as the recommended parking is not as close to the house as we would have liked for someone with mobility issues, but there are stopping spots near to the house that were good for pick up and drop off, this was especially needed with dropping of the bags! The steps up to the house are quite narrow and uneven but we all managed fine. It would be better if there was better street lighting however but torches on phones were good enough to get us home safely. The décor is lovely and I loved the books left for people to read, a very nice touch, as was the tea and coffee left for us. The view of the abbey form the top bedroom was a nice surprise too. booking and picking up the keys couldn't have been easier. Would definitely stay here again. Oh and we left future guests a little charity shop DVD find of Abraham Lincoln vampire hunter! It was worth a watch but not worth the bag space taking home, so enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the decor and the location
Liked least: steps to house are narrow and uneven, internal stairs were steep for people with mobility issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of my cottage. It is very much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charmypan...
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The extra mile......”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have just returned from a lovely stay at Seagull cottage - 4 nights with my husband and 1 year old. This was a real home from home experience - Sharan has thought of everything and the whole cottage is so tastefully decorated and well equipped we didn't need to worry about a thing (very reassuring with a 1 year old!) The bed was so comfy we slept in nearly every day (note -1 year old....bliss!!) I can highly recommend this accommodation - 5 minute walk to the centre of Whitby and ten minutes to the beach. Thank you for reviving us, we will be back!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and Seagull Cottage. Hope to hear from you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneRB
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Really enjoyed our holiday in Whitby. This cottage was completely opposite to our last cottage holiday in Newcourt Barn. The owners welcome book was very informative and welcoming. The cottage was cozy and stylish. The beds and sofas very comfy. A home from home. No long list of rules and cleaning regimes on the notice board. The owner makes it possible for you to just relax and enjoy your holiday by providing a welcoming atmosphere throughout the whole holiday booking process and holiday itself. I parked my car not far away and it was perfectly safe for the entire holiday. For dog walkers I recommend the Cinder Track about 5 minutes walk away, it's the old rail line from Whitby to Scarborough.
Would return again to this cottage if visiting Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy atmosphere and closeness to Whitby
Liked least: Couldn't park outside
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I really appreciate it :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISS TINA...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Super Little Cottage”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cottage was excellent, Sharan has thought of everything. It was very clean, cosy, modern décor with some lovely touches too. I wouldn't think twice about booking again. Thank you for making our Whitby holiday a very pleasant memory.
Tina, Tim, Lucy & Holly.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carling62
1 review
“Excellent cottage & location”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was comfortable & home from home, everything there to make it a relaxing holiday, location was good only draw back was the steps to cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2015
Thank you for the review. Hope you visit again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernie p
1 review
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a beautiful cottage. Every comfort has been provided and I would recommend it to friends and family. It is walking distance into the town and has the park just opposite. I would stay in any of the owners properties next time we're in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good quality fittings and cleanliness
Liked least: steps upto the property
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. I look forward to your next stay:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SillyMill
Teesside
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I along with our dog have just arrived back from a weekend stay at Seagull Cottage it's home from home absolutely everything you could possible need is there, we stayed at Abbey View cottage last year (same owner Sharan) and both cottages are so warm and welcoming, tea,coffee,milk and biscuits are waiting on your arrival, gorgeous comfy beds and lots of lovely touches,what more can I add, highly recommended and can't wait to come again..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Seagull Cottage. Which property will you try next ?? :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing