We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seagull Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maxaimee
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very pretty cottage in walking distance of Whitby town centre. The cottage has been tastefully renovated and well equipped, excellent for family or two couples travelling together. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back. A cafetiere would have been useful as we like fresh coffee in the morning. Thank you for a lovely stay Sharan.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charly160...
Retford, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location. Comfy, cosy and clean.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully decorated and cosy cottage is only two minutes walk to the harbour. It was kitted out with everything you needed for your stay,even a bottle of milk in the fridge on arrival!The private yard to side of the property was an unexpected surprise, lovely private little sun trap with outdoor table and chairs. We loved our stay in the cottage. We will definitely be recommending it to family and friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taglee
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

the cottage is simply wonderful, it is very clean and tidy and very comfortable and a great location.everything you need is supplied including parking permits although we didn't use it as we parked for free on hanover terrace.
it is very spacious with great views from the loft bedroom the only thing you may need to be careful with are the steps up to the cottage they are quite steep and a little sloppy in the wet weather but don't let this put you off it really is worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. Its much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidHB60...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cosy well equipped cottage in ideal location we r”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable well-appointed cottage, which is clearly much loved by the owner.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamienobl...
Darlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The absolute only problem with this cottage is the lack of parking. But saying that parked in the marina car park, just past the coop, and bought a weeks pass from the tourist information centre which was god value! After settling in you will find the perfect location. Jusssst out of town, 2-3 minute walk to town, with takeaways nice and close. One day we walked to robin hoods bay with the dog, had a few drinks and some food, and got the bus back. The bus dropped us off minutes from the cottage! Walking into town for the beach, restaurants, pubs and bars is minutes away. We are going back so please don't book so we can go when we want to!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Look forward to welcoming you back !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickibea
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely fantastic ,a pleasure to stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we got to the cottage on fri afternoon and after unloading and finding parking close by we settled in to this amazing cottage, so much so we nearly didnt go out anywhere !. the addition of milk in the fridge and a packet of biscuits was also welcome . The bathroom was very clean and welcoming and the bedrooms were also very clean .the bed was probably one of the comfiest ive ever slept in . the location was also great for the supermarket and local attractions .all in all i will be definitely staying here again and this is by far the best cottage in whitby i have ever stayed !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a real homely cottage and we loved the little signs dotted about
Liked least: a little bit tricky to find at first
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
Wow.... thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colette d
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here last weekend and we were blessed with good weather. Cottage lovely and all amenities you need. As mentioned parking not on site, we managed to park no more than a 3 min walk away. easy 5 min walk to the town.
Plenty to do in Whitby and vicinity. Had fish and chips for the first time in years and they were great. 15 min drive to Goathland where Heartbeat was filmed (steam train not running), you can easily spend a couple of hours here. Did a 6.5 mile coastal walk to Robin Hoods Bay which was lovely. Will definitely return to this area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of parking but knew this in advance and common in Whitby
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing