We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dirty and mediocre”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just stayed for weekend in No 4 Bagdale - this is the full price annex to the hotel, 2 doors down the road. In order to have a room with a bath we opted for a room at the front - as the room was not double glazed and this is a main road, traffic noise was intrusive. The room was reminiscent of a serviceable bedsit with a four-poster bed - plenty of space, but with incongruous decor and furnishings which were either tired or obviously bought with cost in mind. The en-suite bathroom had black mould both between the tiles and at the base of the shower screen. Found a previous resident's sock and scarf under the bed. Breakfast was extensive but sufficiently unappetising to cause us to eat elsewhere on Sunday morning.

Other than the bathroom, our stay would have been acceptable (but disappointing) at a cheap hotel - to pay a premium price for this quality of accommodation is scandalous.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvmzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 639 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were a late booking in room 5 in the original hall so we can't comment on the lodge rooms which seem to stir some negative emotions.
It would be easy to aim some criticisms at the hotel and rooms, which are valid, as follows...
- Room 5 bathroom VERY small & dated with the slope of the roof putting pay to any chance of standing whilst showering.
- Some of the hall & staricase carpet starting to look a little threadbare.
- The old lead pannelled windows being poor at keeping traffic noise out.
.... but to do so would deminish just how much we enjoyed staying here having stopped at many places in Whitby previously.
The reason for this is twofold. Firstly the place (rooms, hall, restaurant, etc) for all of these faults still oozes character and it's a joy to stay somewhere with soul that isn't a cloned modern hotel.
Secondly, the staff are friendly and efficient and so the service is good and the rooms clean. This was again evident after we realised we'd left a couple of items of clothing in the wardrobe. With one phone call, the items were packaged and sent on their way, with my offer to reimburse the postage cost politely refused.
If you throw in the central location, which is just along from the harbour & dock, the off street parking, the snug snug bar if you don't want to wander far (although it closed at 11:00pm) & an excellent breakfast in the equally charactersitic restaurant, we were suited and would (will) quite happily return.
Incidentally, the doors to the larger rooms 1 & 2 were left open upon our arrival and the space and character in those (including huge 4 posters) take the character of the building up another notch.
We didn't use the restaurant other than for breakfast but it was fully booked anyway with a mix of residents and locals so this presumably says something given this was in October.
In summary, this isn't a faultless or cheap hotel and it does depend on what your priorities are. If however its a central location with a sense of history you're after that will allow you to overlook some of the cosmetic shortcomings then give the Bagdale a try.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denbydaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We arrived in Whitby on an impromptu break hoping to find cheap B&B accommodation for the night, but ended up paying £110 for a twin room at the Bagdale. While the price was exorbitantly high, we consoled ourselves with the thought that at least we'd get to spend a luxurious night in the beautiful Tudor building. However, instead of being directed up the sweeping wooden staircase, we were shown the door. Literally. Banished up the road to the so-called 'Lodge' we found ourselves in the Bagdale halfway house, which has all the ambience of a youth hostel. Had we been charged a regular B&B rate we have probably would have let it go, but at £110 for a twin room on the ground floor (one double and one single bed) with shabby decor, mismatched furniture and a questionable level of hygiene (such as an un-emptied bin) we expected better. Much better. Graciously allowed back in the undoubtedly impressive main building to be overcharged for two drinks in the bar we could only muse over what could have been, before trudging back up the road to our quarters feeling like second-rate guests. We returned to the main building for a perfectly adequate breakfast the next day. Overall our impression was that staying at the Bagdale Hall Hotel is a tale of two experiences, which would be OK if that were reflected in the price. But having stayed in hotels all over the world that offered far superior accommodation at far lower prices, we truly felt as though we'd been robbed; not just because of the cost but because of the experience we missed out on.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Polly10028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

If you stay in the old part of the house then you get the four poster bed and the beautiful ancient decor. We stayed in number 2 and wow! what a room. Great for a romantic trip away. The bathroom was pretty old and tired though. The fabulous stone fireplace had a gas fire which I attempted to light and generate the atmosphere I was looking for. Alas, according to reception, it "was a health and safety risk" and it was decommissioned. {sigh}
Didnt eat there as we went to the Magpie but had a drink in the bar which was small and empty but the staff were nice.
Breakfast was smashing. I had the kippers and the english brekky and overloaded myself somewhat!
All in all a lovely quaint hotel perfect for a romantic trip away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMoog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed over this weekend and found all of the staff very friendly and extremly helpful, the accomodation was excellent, clean and full of hundreds of years of character but still didn't see the ghost. We would recommend this centraly placed hotel with its own car park to anyone but be sure not to eat before you go because the food is so good and very filling. We even spoke to some local residents of Whitby who were dining there even though they lived just around the corner, they discribed the hotel as a little gem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

If you want a conveniently located historic hotel with character, serving generous delicious evening meals with, genuinely friendly and obliging staff and a clean warm and comfortable room at a very reasonable price Bagdale Hall will more than satisfy you. We stayed a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely old fashioned place. The staff were charming and made us feel welcome and valued. We would stay there again if we were to return to Whitby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank particular95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at bagdale hall and really enjoyed it. The rooms were wonderful ! the cleanliness was excellent and the room was very spacious. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was great the portions are huge and great value for money. The staff are really friendly and always on hand to help. the location of the hotel is great right in the centre of whitby. The hotel is good as a short distance to the centre so great if you cannot walk far and no hills. Overall i found this hotel brilliant and a great place to go for that special trip away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,097 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $156 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing