We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2005

My husband and I stayed at The Bagdale Hall hotel on Christmas Eve. We stayed in the annex at the side of the main hotel. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and service was prompt. Our 4 poster room at £118 prpn was immaculate. All the furnishings were tasteful and looked like new, the carpets were spotless. The ensuite bathroom was well equiped without a trace of mildew. Lovely fluffy towels were supplied. The power shower was fantastic and the bath definately had room for two!!!
The location was ideal, far enough away to be quiet but very close to all the amenities. Parking was safe and plentiful. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and well presented. Would definately visit again and it's not often I can say that!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Preducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for Bagdale Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 635 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2005

The Bagdale Hall Hotel is a friendly well looked after establishment with very friendly staff who seem to enjoy their work. We had a 4 poster room in the annex to the side of the main hotel - £118pn. Our room was clean with a lovely en-suite and very welcoming(only 4 tv channels). There is the Bagdale Lodge 100yds up the road which is £45 prpn. There is also car parking for both facilities which seems rare in Whitby. We dined in the restaraunt and enjoyed a fantastic meal and good wine. The breakfast menu was extensive and the food again was of the highest standard. We will definitely go back to Bagdale Hall.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andjotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

The building oozes character and history. Unique. The room we have stayed in twice now, is large and full of traditional, old world charm, big four poster bed etc. I believe there is a ghost, too. Good breakfast, (but too early for the ghost...)
Not good value for the money, though. Few, if any amenities in the room, and an ordinary, if somewhat scruffy bathroom. Disinterested service too.
This place has special memories for me, so I can't be too harsh, but stop resting on your laurels, Bagdale!

2  Thank Katzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2005

(accom at Bagdale Hall Hotel). Pokey shower with lots of black mould, dusty skirting boards and ceramics in toilet . Tired decor,but its cheap so what do you expect- but no excuse for the lack of cleaning

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank horace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
16
Reviewed March 22, 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed there for one night in March 2005 to celebrate our one-year anniversary. After searching for hotels and B&Bs with four-poster beds in Whitby to no avail - and, unfortunately, the local Tourist Information do not have great information about which places have four-posters - I resorted to booking in descending order of TripAdvisor ratings. It turned out that the only room that Bagdale Hall had left had a four-poster bed, so I booked it straight away for that night. Bed and Breakfast for two in a four-poster en suite cost GBP 118, which I would consider to be a middle-four-star rate for London or an upper-four-star rate for the provinces. Better rates may be available for those who can book in advance.

The hotel is 150 yards from the train station, as claimed, and the railway journey over the North Yorkshire Moors from Middlesbrough is a pretty one. Trains are fairly infrequent, though - five a day at most, and often none at all on Sundays. (Bus service is regular, but not the most comfortable.) The location is quiet - quieter than we expected considering the road it was on - though about 250 yards from the harbour.

We had one of eight small suites in a brightly-lit overflow facility about 20 yards from the main building. The room wasn't huge, but we were delighted with the four-poster canopy bed, which was luxurious, comfortable and extremely soft. The patterns on the canopy above us were not the most co-ordinated; we likened them to upside-down sad-looking fish. Cleanliness was excellent and the bathroom was unusually large, with a very pleasant shower. The facilities within the room were basic; no minibar and a TV with only four channels. Definitely a couples' hotel in a very couply town.

We didn't use the restaurant facilitiy for dinner, instead wandering the streets and (with the greatest of luck) hitting a Spanish bistro called Garriga's on the harbourfront that served very large platefuls that turned out to be excellent. The hotel restaurant quoted a typical price for two of GBP 50 to GBP 60, which gave me a little sticker shock; Garriga's turned out to cost GBP 46 plus tip but money extremely gratefully spent. We took breakfast at the hotel restaurant the next day and were highly impressed; I had fresh mango in strawberry liqueur and kedgeree, my girlfriend had a remarkably comprehensive fried breakfast with all the habitual trimmings and even haggis.

This is a small hotel with a highly-trained staff and managers who are genuinely proud and friendly rather than the typical corporate service that you get elsewhere. Not cheap, but a class act. Distinctive and firmly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2005

My boyfriend and I are just back from a lovely winter weekend break in Whitby. We decided to stay at Bagdale hall because we had passed it often on day trips and it looked mysterious and very well placed, just a stones throw from the town centre.
We stayed in the newly refurbished 'lodge' which is a couple of doors up. The room was very nice with a big, extremely comfortable four-poster bed and a spacious bathroom. It is expensive at £118 for one night even in the depths of winter; really just as a treat I'd say. It had no vacancies that weekend so you would definitely need to pre book. The breakfast was nice with a good choice although 9.30 is the latest time to be down even on a Sunday morning! We didn't eat in the restaurant because we thought the menu look very unimaginative for the prices being charged. You can pay the same for food in restaurants such as Greens or the White Horse and Griffin, both of which are particularly renown for their fab cuisine.
All in all though, a grand weekend :o)

7  Thank apkinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2004

Without doubt the best hotel, by far, in Whitby. Superb food and stunning accomodation. Histoy atmosphere and style. Fantastic!

7  Thank Graham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,078 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $154 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing