We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked bagdale Hall through a voucher website and it turned out to be well worth every penny. We arrived early as we wanted time to explore Whitby, the receptionist was very friendly and informed us we awere accommodated in the lodge then gave us our key and directions. Unfortunately it being a Monday the restaurant was not open so we had our evening meal at the Magpie Cafe. The room was very comfortable and clean with tea/coffee making facilites, here was no bath but had a very powerful shower.
The breakfast was very good and tasty with a wide selection of items on the menu.
I hope to stay here again on our next visit to Whitby but in one of the larger rooms with a four poster bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 638 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on a 2 night deal for bed and breakfast which was excellent value for money, even though our rooms were in the lodge and it was midweek. Our room was clean and very warm and the breakfast was very good with excellent service.

This hotel is in a fantastic position to explore Whitby and the surrounding area, being 2 minutes walk to the bus and train stations and 5 minutes into town. There is also good parking at the hotel. Watch out for the bus prices though, over 26 pounds return for 4 people to Robin Hood's bay!

Overall an excellent base at a great price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s9mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A family get together for a special birthday, what can I say, the staff were superb, attention to detail at every turn, friendly relaxed and focussed on an enjoyable evening for all. The building has a distinctive historic feel whilst offering a warm enjoyable atmosphere. The food I had was excellent, possibly the best Smoked Fish Chowder I have ever had, so full of flavour. I followed that with a Beef Wellington which was equally superb in every aspect. Would I go again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on an unplanned visit to Whitby. The room in the No. 4 annex was lovely, with a comfy four-poster bed, lots of space and a good bathroom. Lots of hot water for baths after walking on the moors!

We ate in the restaurant as we'd not organised anything else and Whitby was busy on Saturday night. The food was good and service very friendly though not intrusive. Three courses for £16 was good value! Breakfast was very good too.

Bagdale Hall is lovely, a really interesting building with lots of charm. It's not high-end luxury, but is much nicer than your average hotel at this price. We looked at a slightly cheaper room in the Lodge but for an extra few pounds the rooms in the hall or No 4 are much nicer and are worth pushing your budget for.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are modern - if you want a really romantic, special night go for a four-poster in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekyGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed for one night as I had business in Whitby. Lovely hotel with lots of charm and character. Rooms are well equipped, cosy with a modern bathroom. Stayed in a 4 poster and I was very pleased. Breakfast was very nice with good quality sausages! Staff were helpful. Hotel is situated on the high st, close to the rail station and shops etc. All in all, I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had 1 night bed and breakfast for my birthday. We stayed in the lodge, it was spotlessly clean, shower was excellent and the room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was so good. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We call whitby our 'happy place', so were better to go for a birthday treat, and Bagdale Hall Hotel was the cherry on top. Fabulous room with a stunning and very comfortable bed, a very elegant en-suite which was sparkling clean, and just to top it off we had a full wall window! We had dinner in the restaurant and weren't dissapointed, the food was amazing never had Beef wellington as good, and the decor and atmosphere was delightfull. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull, nothing too much trouble. Over all a wonderfull experience and a wonderfull birthday. Will definetly return again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $155 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing