We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, delicious breakfasts, comfortable bed!”
Review of Argyle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyle House
Ranked #72 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Immediately when we arrived we were told our room was not ready, however we arrived very early! Bill immediately offered to keep our bags safe while we went for a walk to pass the time until our room was ready. He was very friendly and catering from the start.

Our room was perfect, very clean and our hospitality tray was always full. And luckily for us we were given a more expensive room for a lower price due to the room we wanted had already been booked, brilliant service yet again.

As for the breakfasts, we always received what we wanted and there was ample food to be eaten. The people who served us every morning were always very polite and friendly.

Over all there is nothing bad to say about Argyle house, we were in the centre of Whitby, exactly where we wanted to be, the service was great, Bill and Mel were welcoming and we most definitely will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolidarityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a couple of nights in Argyle House as we were in Whitby for a wedding. We booked a small room but i must say it was spotless and had everything we needed. Bill and the staff were very welcoming and couldn't do more for us. Breakfast was lovely and had plenty if options if we didn't want a full English. We had a very enjoyable stay and i thoroughly recommend it. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at Argyle House with Mel and Bill, for our 9th wedding anniversary - wish it had been longer! The attic room was perfectly cosy, the only down side (and it was completely my mess up) was that I thought it had a memory foam bed, and it didn't. My fault entirely, but it meant I didnt sleep so well, however my other half found the bed perfectly comfy. Next time I will check ;)
There was a small but perfectly well equipped en suite with a great shower, fluffy towels and toiletries. Also an endless supply of tea and coffee & chocolate, plus the lovely surprise of a bottle of wine and a card for our wedding anniversary!
Mel and Bill go out of their way to be welcoming, and they and their two boys are a lovely family who make it feel like home from home. The other great point for me, was that Bill was completely up to speed with catering for someone with coeliac disease, and I enjoyed a wonderful gluten free english breakfast. Things like that make a huge difference, and it really was appreciated. We will be back to see them, there is no doubt :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Doesn't look great from the outside but don't let that put you off. The welcome from Mel was very warm and friendly, giving the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. The room was small, but had everything you need and the bed was comfortable. We were woken up by the seagulls squawking but you can't do anything about that. Its certainly put me off wanting to retire to the coast though! Breakfast was between 8:30 and 9am and there was a good choice of food which was all very nice. It's well situated for exploring Whitby and close to a local car park which serves the swimming pool and registry office which is handy as the on street parking was all taken. There's an entrance to the rear of the car park just opposite the B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed on the top floor and was happy with the stay. The room is neat and clean, nice breakfast. Location is around 15 mins walk by the riverside - a little bit walking especially when with the backpack, but overall its definately a good value stay. Thanks for Biill and Mel, they are very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vk_hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having never stayed in a B&B before I wasn't sure what to expect - I imagined images of tired old rooms, greasy food and stuffy owners - HOWEVER how wrong was I? The welcome we got when we walked through the door was lovely and we where reassured we could come and go as we please - the breakfast choices where brilliant with every thing being bought locally not from supermarkets. The owners are so so lovely and couldn't do more for you.
They even filled up our travel mugs for our journey home.
The rooms are are modern, clean and the bed,bedding and towels are so soft - I don't know how they do it!?
Location is excellent a short walk from sea, town and best restaurants!
I would highly recommend Argyle house and will be telling everyone I know to visit.

Room Tip: The attic room is excellent spacious, quiet and has character. We could see the Whitby abbey from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

rooms were excellent and clean. bill and mel the owners were welcoming and friendly, would definatly stay there again, best bed and breakfast i have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
3  Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#121 of 152 in Whitby
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House

Address: 18 Hudson Street | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality double en-suite rooms, large Smart TV with access to NETFLIX and latest movie bank, fast internet connection all free for your in room entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Argyle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing