We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“argyle house bed and breakfast”
Review of Argyle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyle House
Ranked #66 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“argyle house bed and breakfast”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

rooms were excellent and clean. bill and mel the owners were welcoming and friendly, would definatly stay there again, best bed and breakfast i have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
3 Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
101
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CAMBS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned from my first trip to Whitby,me my wife and two children had a fantastic stay at Argyle House.Bill was very welcoming ,friendly and knowledgeable of the area.The room was lovely a suite for the family clean well furnished with nice smelling fluffy towels.The locally sourced breakfast was plentiful and extremely tasty.Would definately recommend this B and B and we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARBLE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Whitby, I go there four to five times a year. And always stay at 'The Argyle House' without exception. I have stated in previous reviews for this place I find it comfortable, very welcoming and friendly. Hosts, Bill and Mel have become friends of mine and it is always a joy to see them as much as it is, to visit Whitby itself. I am writing this review for the simple reason. I returned from a weeks stay there in April and read some of the other guests reviews on here, TRIP ADVISOR when i returned, I was very pleased the majority agreed with me, and rightly, what a fantastic place Argyle House is. But I also write this for the people who have had the shame and temerity attitude towards Argyle House to grade it anything less than 4 stars! What the hell is the matter with people!, can they not acknowledge brilliant hospitality and a warming, caring courteous service. When they see it for themselves?
It annoys me tremendously that anyone can find any fault with this establishment or its hosts.
Some people just aren't happy unless they have something to complain about!
Trust me!!, I visit Whitby a lot! I would never stay at another B&B. If i cant get into Argyle, I dont go, simple as that. It's the best place, 5/5 every time. The room is warm and very comfortable, it's spacious and very beautifully decorated. Bill has actually re-done the decor in the B&B recently to a brilliant quality/standard. The breakfast is fantastic, I am a chef and so I am, naturally very critical of other peoples cooking, but Bill cooks a brilliant full english and the fortunes kippers, for which I am also very partial, are cooked to perfection.
I just cant wait to go back again, Whitby is my like my second home. Argyle house is my home away from home. Anyone who cant see the quality of the place are philistines and don't deserve the fantastic hospitality Bill and Mel offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robGEORGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Mel and Bill were great in welcoming us to their B and B. The rooms were lovely - well set out and very tastefully furnished. The breakfast was delicious with locally produced food.
Would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthM745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were in the attic room which was very cosy, and seemed redolent of a garret from an old fishing, or smuggling novel. Only it was much more comfortable! The facilities were good. Our hostess, Mel, was charming,and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent being both varied, and of good quality and of immense quantity. The best was the Whitby kipper of which there were two upon a plate! Argyle House is in a pleasant area of the town, and it has easy access to all attractions. It was a great pleasure walking to, and from the town. Overall, we had a wonderful stay, and were made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Go for the attic room. Spacious, and you can hear the sea. The room is quiet, and away from the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximilian Quen... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just had 2 nights at Argyle house. Found it cosy, comfortable, clean and friendly. Excellent location , short walk down steep hill to quayside. On street parking can be difficult between 9am and 4pm, the streets around the hotel do have plenty of parking but the spaces are nearly always full- I can imagine it will be impossible to park anywhere nearby in high season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have been staying at Argyle House regularly for the last 7 years and the standards are as high now as they were then, Bill and Mel are the perfect hosts and work hard to make sure that their customers are treated extremely well. The rooms are excellent with pleasing decor, plently of clean towels and tea and coffee making facilities with limitless stocks. The breakfast menu offers a good choice and is cooked and presented beautifully by Bill, the staff are pleasant, friendly and helpful. This really is the place to stay when in Whitby, it was recommended by a friend and we've never stayed anywhere else, Argyle House is in the best position for either walking into Whitby or getting back onto the main road to travel to some of the wonderful nearby attractions. Bill and Mel have become friends and it is always a pleasure to return to see them once again. Does this sound too good to be true? Then book a stay at Argyle House and see for yourself - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs so if mobility is an issue, ask for a room nearer to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEWHITBY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 52 in Whitby
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#5 of 151 in Whitby
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#79 of 151 in Whitby
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House

Property: Argyle House
Address: 18 Hudson Street | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality double en-suite rooms, large Smart TV with access to NETFLIX and latest movie bank, fast internet connection all free for your in room entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Argyle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing