We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine time at Argylle house.”
Review of Argyle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyle House
Ranked #76 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A fine time at Argylle house.”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We assured Bill that we could all manage the stairs up to the attic room, where for 3 nights my husband, son and I would be staying. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. The electric pump in the bathroom was no bother, it just reminded us that we were in a beautiful old building. The partition wall between the two attic rooms is a little thin, I could hear the guests next door speaking clearly,(Not that I was trying!)
The breakfast choice on offer was good, however I did miss fresh tomato with the full english especially as I had a glut at home. Two lovely young ladies served breakfast with a smile.
Argyle house is in a perfect position for walking into Whitby and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.
We parked either in the public car park close by or on the seafront and had no problems with that, even though it was an extreemly busy Bank Holiday weekend.
We felt we had made a good choice and can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgewaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    28
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
98
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I am a regular visitor to Whitby, I take four to five trips there a year and always stay at The Argyle House. Bill and Mel are fantastic hosts and as such have become good friends of mine. They are always friendly, kind and generous. I have had friends also stay there at my recommendation and they have also thoroughly enjoyed it and have also returned, more than once.
The premises is kept in fantastic condition, always warm and comfortable and extremely clean and well kept. I cant say enough about how great Argyle House is. In fact I have read some other guests reviews and agree with all of the similar feedback on how fantastic it is a place to stay and I disagree with the few who have been unhappy. I find the negative reviews to be unfair and at times nasty. Some people don't know a great place if its right in front of them, I guess. Thank you, Bill and Mel. I Will return ASAP.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robGEORGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Yet again a wonderul break, @ the Argyle House. Good value for money, good selection of breakfasts all pipeing hot and served on hot plates. Great location, easy walking distance to the harbour. Bill & Mel the perfect hosts could'nt ask for better.
Would highly recommend and will always return.
Jim & Susan
Swinton
Manchester

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanforshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Another (our second) trip to argyll house & it wont be our last. Great service, both rooms we have stayed in have been spotless, warm & comfortable, with more than enough tea/coffee provided. The food is excellent & overall the stay is well worth the money. Bill & Mel are great hosts & always willing to help with any questions about the local area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_yorks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Thanks to Bill and Mel for a wonderful stay in Whitby. We had a lovely time as we were celebrating my partners 50th birthday and he was made to feel really special and we were both made to feel welcome and comortable, they are both warm and friendly and have 2 gorgeous children. Our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, and we loved the shower, one of the best we have ever used. Breakfast was served with smiles and warmth and was an absolute pleasure. Thank you soooo much for making us feel so welcome, and in the words of arnie, we will be back!

Our best wishes from Mark and Sarah

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at Argyle house at the beginning of April ----Goth Weekend !!!!!! Being none Goths we were a bit taken back at first, but the owners of the guest house Mel and Bill , explained about eveything and told us where the best places to go were and they made our stay there all the more interesting wth their valued information, A very comfortable,clean and very friendly place to stay. We will definately be back, maybe dressed up as Goths next time !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baycarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Recently stayed here briefly, when we arrived and saw the tired outside of the property we nearly turned away, but I am happpy we didn't.. Bill and Mel the owners made us feel immediatley welcome, the room we stayed in was very clean and well appointed. The location was superb and the vegetarian breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argylehouse, Owner at Argyle House, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Hi. Thanks for this feedback. We do try to make this home from home for all our guests. These wonderful guests make it all worth while. Thanks.
Just a quick note to let everyone know that Argyle house is still in its winter clothing and a high access platform is already scheduled to do maintenance on the 12th April 2011. I'm not looking forward to the heights though!!
All the best,Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#125 of 151 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyle House

Property: Argyle House
Address: 18 Hudson Street | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality double en-suite rooms, large Smart TV with access to NETFLIX and latest movie bank, fast internet connection all free for your in room entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Argyle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing