We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to eat in Whitby with your doggies... you heard it through the Grape Vine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapevine whitby - CLOSED

Grapevine whitby
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place to eat in Whitby with your doggies... you heard it through the Grape Vine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Definitely a place worth going to in Whitby for good honest food, cooked to perfection, ample helpings and served with warm smiles.

The owners are lovely people, who genuinely enjoy serving the visitors of this famous Yorkshire town with 'real' home cooked food. We had proper roast pork, with crackling, stuffing, Yorkshire puds, peas, chips n gravy... delicious! The choice of food was great. There was even real garlic mushrooms on toast!

Also... low prices, good music and a great atmosphere. They even welcomed our dogs with free sausages! What more do you need?!

The only fault I have is that we didn't find them till the day we were leaving Whitby. We will be back, without a doubt!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good for people- and dogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Popped in here for refreshment after a long car journey. It has a very unassuming exterior, but the warm welcome and excellent cup of tea were most welcome. I had excellent carrot cake and the dog was treated to a sausage and the trimmings off the freshly cooked beef joint, so the place certainly gets her vote. My partner's roast pork sandwich was reportedly very good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here for breakfast and weren't disappointed. I had a standard full English which was a good size and my husband had a large which was huge. The food was good and so was the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachy-peach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scrummy for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A small cafe which happens to be dog friendly, and which majors in delicious treats at excellent prices. Though unassuming from the outside, the welcoming owner produced a succession of home made treats from his tiny kitchen for three footsore visitors. The roast pork sandwich made with well sourced, beautifully cooked pork loin was a particular highlight, though the joint of beef which was just out of the oven would have been equally good in a sandwich. The carrot cake was delicious too. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OfTheLeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mmmmm yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Found this little hidden away gem while looking for somewhere for lunch. Walked past once as full but tried our luck on the way back and hay presto, a free table, definitely our lucky day. I had the peri-peri bagette, nice and spicey and hubby had club bagette, so big he couldn't get his mouth around it. And we just had to order home made chips. It was a lovely warm welcome and very dog friendly (although we don't own one). Excellent value for money and we'd recommend to anyone who wants lunch or maybe a bit more.

Being the nosey person that I am, I listened to other people's comments on their food and they all praised this lovely little cafe. Definitely one to remember next time we're here.

Helpful?
Thank nikkib2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine whitby also viewed

Sandsend, Whitby
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing