We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage - we'll book it again.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Living Area with kitchen in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Entrance
Living Area with kitchen in the background
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
King Size bedroom
King Size Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
uncleagen...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage - we'll book it again.”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable all round, well equipped and very handy for the shops. We really appreciated having hooks on the bathroom door and shelves and a storage unit in the bathroom, things that are so often not thought of in holiday cottages. We found the beds very comfortable, and our daughter and son-in-law said the sofa bed was fine too. It was very useful having a key safe so no need for complicated arrangements as to who would be having the key - vital when 6 people are staying! We also much appreciated the pint of milk and packet of biscuits left for us when we arrived, along with some sachets of tea, coffee and sugar - very thoughtful. The owner is extremely helpful if you need to contact her by email. The only snag we found was inadequate light for reading in the living room, which could be a nuisance if you were in during the evening or staying in the winter months. And the rather worn flight of stone steps giving access to the cottage could make it unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems, although there is a firm rail to hold on to. But otherwise we couldn't fault it and will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfirtable, convenient and good value.
Liked least: Needs a good reading light in the living room.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. Thank you so much.Hope to hear from you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amyinbath
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great little cottage that was close to the centre of Town but also slightly tucked away. Comfortable and well presented it is very cosy. Easy to find thanks to the clear directions and suited us for our 3 night stay in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon s
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

had 3 days in this cottage did not want to come home it has everything you need and
just a short walk in to town to all the local amenities will be returning next year many thanks
for a lovely stay
sharon and garry

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: was very homely
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyB364
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This really is a little gem of a place, only a stones throw away from the centre but really quiet and peaceful.We found the cottage easily thanks to the detailed directions e-mailed to us after booking. The cottage is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clorley
1 review
“5 star accommodation”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a great short break in Whitby. Abbey View was beautifully decorated, homely, modern and very clean. It provided everything we needed (except a parking space which was a shame but parked on a nearby road 5 minuits away so wasn't too bad). Sharon responded to emails promptly and was very helpful. The whole booking process was quick and straight forward. I would definitely reccomend this cottage to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernadett...
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable retreat, with shops nearby”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This little treasure took a bit of finding but with the kind help of a taxi driver and a neighbour once we were inside it was worth it. The accommodation was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and fresh. We had the welcome pack and found our way around everything with no problem. It is close to the shops but is surprisingly quiet. A good night's sleep was had by all. We didn't want to leave.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAA118635...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage - highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was easy to book; we had quick confirmation from the owner, along with a welcome pack, via e mail, all within 24 hours of booking. On arrival, the cottage was easy to locate from the directions we'd received; everywhere was spotlessly clean; and all appliances, including the boiler, easy to operate, and there was a useful manual covering all the basics too. The decor was themed in purple which we really liked; the two bedrooms were very comfortable and we particularly liked the king size bed in the top bedroom, which had a fantastic view over the rooftops to the Abbey.

All appliances were clean and easy to operate; the cottage was lovely and warm (even though we had sunny days, it was cold at nights so we really appreciated this). Although on the small side, we found the space adequate for four of us - including two children aged 11 and 14, who thought the cottage was brilliant. The only slight downside was no outside space, as this was a Spring break that wasn't a huge issue, but it would have been a bigger issue for a summer holiday.

The cottage is very well located, just a few minutes walk to the town centre and 15 minutes or so from the beach.

We ate out a couple of times and cooked at the cottage twice too, the kitchen was clean and all appliances modern / easy to use, and included a small dishwasher - very handy!

This was our first visit to Whitby and we were very impressed; loved the Abbey, full of history; the museum (just opposite, in the park), the coffee shops - Sherlock's in particular was a real find - the shops, and the beach, miles of golden sand. We also went to Robin Hoods Bay and loved it, just 20 minutes or so by car and well worth a trip.

All round the cottage was very good value for money, we had an excellent break, and comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall standard of cleanliness and decor - fantastic
Liked least: No outside seating space
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Abbey View and thank you for your positive review. It is much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing