We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely Cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wick Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Family bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
libbyl00
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a lovely Cottage!”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here over Christmas with my daughter.
On arrival we were surprised and delighted with some thoughtful extras - fresh flowers, chocolates, biscuits and wine, the cottage also had a Christmas tree and tasteful decorations set up so there was a festive atmosphere.
The cottage was IMMACULATE, very cosy, comfortable, well equipped and stylish.
The price we paid for 3 nights was extremely reasonable for that time of year - I notice the price has gone up considerably for next year - however I'm not surprised, it still offers fantastic value for money for what you get. We are considering staying here again this year during the summer, the private little patio area would be a bonus then.
Also must mention that Sharan, the owner, was a pleasure to communicate with, very friendly and helpful.
One of the nicest cottages I've stayed in, and I stay here at least twice a year and have done for over 25 years -well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - central location, comfort, cleanliness...
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachael s
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend here in October. We loved the cottage. Excellent position in Whitby, we could walk to everything in the town. Cottage had so much character. Lovely beams, staircases etc. Three lovely bedrooms. Cottage was spotlessly clean and very well equipped for self catering. Children loved all the teddies, and the biscuits and chocolates provided on arrival etc. They even put fresh flowers on the table. We are going to stay again next year but for longer. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilbet79
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were travelling by train with 2 small children and this was a brilliant bolt hole and was perfect walking distance to all the sights of Whitby. It has everything you could need (including toys) and is perfect for the grown ups too. It was clean & tidy with everything you could need. We all loved it and will probably come back again.
The only downside we had was we were staying during the world cup when england were playing and the pub opposite got a bit noisy but that was just pure bad luck on our side!
If we did have any problems Sharan was fantastic and quickly got them sorted.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina S
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely old Quaint well positioned fully equipped cottage”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd stay in this cottage, and its very good value for the money we paid, very well positioned for all the amenities. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could need. A proper home from home. We have been coming to Whitby for years, but Wick cottage is the best place we have stayed. Cant wait to go back. And we have already recommended it to other friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the history of the property..and the position..and the home from home feeling of the cottage
Liked least: The tree in the back could do with a prune
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. It is very much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrimppeo...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage, brilliant location.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We love Whitby and have stayed a few times but Wick Cottage made our stay so much nicer. It was right in the heart of Whitby only a few minutes walk from the beach and all amenities. The kitchen was very well equipped and the bedrooms lovely. Cannot fault it. Bonus having a place to park one car too. Will definitely go to Wick Cottage again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
Thank you for the review. Its much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny V
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous family weekend made all the better by the gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a beautiful, comfortable cottage this is. As soon as we arrived we all felt at home and greatly appreciated the coffee and biscuits! Excellant central location, recommend the few minutes walk to Bothams the bakers for fresh bread and the butter buns and lemon buns are a must. Fabulous well equipped cottage, enjoyed by all in the party ranging from age 14 to 79! We all look forward to returning thank you Sharan x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful decor, clean and comfortable
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope you visit again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juju4250
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute gem in great location. Will return again.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Such a lucky find in the heart of Whitby.

Property immaculate and so well equipped.

Thought it may be cold this time of year but there was able heating. Would be fantastic in the Summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2014
Thank you for the review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Wick. Hope to see you again... in the summer this time !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing