We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true hidden gem with great food for all the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall

Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem with great food for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local and we were not disappointed. We arrived just as the rain did but the tent like coverings and large umbrellas over the tables made it a very pleasant experience. We had a lovely salad, a bread/houmous/dip platter and a large BLT before munching happily on some cakes too! The food here rated above most if not all the other cafes we tried in the local area for daytime snacks and that covers a fair area! We had a pleasant walk in the woods, took some nice photos and visited the druid's cave. All in all a great find - do try it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxedholidaygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    81
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We discovered this place, while on a walk from littlebeck. We heard about a waterfall but did not realise we would discover the tea rooms as well. We had a drink and two homemade cakes, the place was quaint and a lovely place to stop and rest before the walk back. We did not use the facilities but would recommend a visit if you love walking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northfield2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We discovered this last year prior to going on holiday to Whitby and made it part of our itinerary to visit. We had a cream tea and were really impressed with the quality of the food and the surroundings, so much so that we will be visiting at least once more when we return to Whitby next week.
Can't wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gazman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Found this quite by accident - absolutely beautiful little place - scenery stunning and the food and setting wonderful. Everything home made and a really pleasant place to sit and chill!!!
Give it a try!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

A hidden gem,only accessed by quite a steep walk,but well worth the effort.such an unusual location I don't think you will find its equal anywhere in England .first class service and reasonable prices too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank nettleham_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing