We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall

Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

i love this cafe.
the location of it is fantastic. i've known about the cottage before it became the tea room so it isnt a surprise to come across it, but for walkers who are not expecting it - what a treat!

we visited in June when the sun was shining and sat on a table at hte bottom of the garden. there was plenty of seating available.
the scones were beautiful.

there are lots of activities/toys for children (adults too!) which kept us amused.
This tea room has got everything right, even the toilet is fun!

We will definitely be returning here on our next visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 19Jess88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    81
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“good cake, terrible access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We walked from Littlebeck along the river to Falling Foss to try to avoid the rough downhill path, however the river path was horrendous, (not the tearoom's fault though), I was not prepared for an all out yomping hike but rather a pleasant stroll to some yummy cakes and tea. I finally arrived, sweaty, mucky and thoroughly ticked off. This is fine if you are a keen walker and are prepared for the dubious access, "lovely walk through the woods" it was not. The tea and cake were fine but after the nasty journey, nothing would have pleased me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely out door tea room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We did a walk from little beck through the woods following the river, it takes about 1 hour to get here and you are also at the falling foss water fall. A very nice place to visit the owner was very friendly and has a good knowledge of the area well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a great place for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A short walk down hill to the tea garden, What a delight very pretty setting under trees, with under cover seating, a swing seat and fab play area . Had a good cup of tea and lovely sandwiches, would highly recommend. Some lovely walks through the woods . worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dalesgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have visited Foss Tea room on various occasions over the last two years.

Oh what a dissapointment the coffee was this time. Very bitter and whilst it was perculated it didn't arrive in a perculater, all the coffee dregs were in the bottom.

Hope this was just a slip up by the waitress serving us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Falling Foss Tea Garden and Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing