We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage and great location”
other travelers have booked this property
honeysuckle cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
honeysuckle cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
honeysuckle cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DarrenHam...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and great location”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Arrived at the cottage and was welcomed by Nick and Margaret who are very very nice and great people. Cottage is immaculate and very nicely decorated. Extremely tidy and clean and has all the amenities you need. There is even a great next door neighbour who is so lovely. Beds were extremely comfortable and the lounge chairs and couch were brilliant to sink into after a long day travelling around all the sites. Its very close to so many awesome sites too, Port Mulgrave which has a load of fossils for the kids to look for and collect and even had a seal pup come to visit us on the shore! Whitby is right up the road, as is the fantastic Robin Hoods bay and Staithes which are so picturesque. This cottage is perfect, could not recommend it more and we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and appearance of cottage.
Liked least: we had to leave
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in quiet hamlet”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed along with our 8 week old daughter in July for 4 nights.

The cottage is excellently maintained, everything you could think of was included, even things you wouldn't expect such as dishwasher tablets, current tv magazine, a bag to put the cushions on the bed into if you did not want to use them. It's the things like this that show how well catered for you are at Honeysuckle cottage.

The front garden sets you up for what to expect as it's set out immaculately.

There are stacks of guides of local info from walks, restaurants, pubs, take aways, things to do.

Moorsholm itself is a very quiet hamlet, there is no local store to buy milk etc but there are many treats nearby.

This was a great base for us to explore the Yorkshire East Coast with a young baby and I would recommend it for any couple or family to stay in if you want to base yourself near enough local sites but in quiet surroundings.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolD547
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Cottage !”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for a short break (Sat - Tues) which at this time of year is good to get. The cottage was immaculate and well equipped. Nice seating are out back and Margaret (Owner) was welcoming and informative. Would recommend to anyone !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaintness of it
Liked least: Nothing, but perhaps location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineW...
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful location; what a find!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely cottage; had everything we needed and then some! The games cupboard is something to marvel at! Loved the personal touches around the house such as homemade sewing and drawings by the owner. Perfect location for what we wanted to do and lots of helpful info given at the cottage. We would definitely stay again if returning to the area. The kitchen came with all utensils you could need and the whole cottage was perfectly clean and maintained throughout.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_kriek
Ermelo, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cosy and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A charming, characterful cottage, reasonably priced, complete with all mod.cons, situated in a quiet village on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. A real home from home with lots of books, magazines and games Plenty of things to see and do in the surrounding area in off-season. We were with four adults but this cottage is also suitable for families with children. We would definitely return for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character and quality of the cottage
Liked least: nothing to mention
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie s
suffolk uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location,welcoming stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Very clean attractive cottage, wonderful days out walking and dining within beautiful landscapes. Our return to Honeysuckle cottage after a days exploration, the kettle was clicked on and the log burner was ignited. A real gem 5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: homely feel & cleanliness
Liked least: nothing springs to mind!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy P
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful, well equipped and comfortable character cottage in lovely quiet countryside village”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed with my husband and 2 children for a short break in Honeysuckle cottage. It's a lovely old property full of character (lovely fireplace with logs provided), tastefully decorated and with a nice modern kitchen and bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and rooms were equipped with everything we needed. We had a warm welcome from the owner and the kids enjoyed the treasure hunt (and the thoughtful prizes!). The garden was lovely and the outside decking area gets the sun on a nice evening. The neighbours were friendly too. The village was quiet and pretty with a nice walk and a good playground. It was an easy drive to Whitby, although we preferred to visit the other smaller coastal places like Saltburn, Runswick Bay and Staithes, nice beaches and less busy. Also near to some lovely countryside in the North York Moors. It is very 'cosy' inside the cottage but we were going to camp in a tent and I'm really glad we didn't. I would definitely recommend this cottage for couples or families with two young children looking for a peaceful and pretty getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful pretty location near to countryside and sea
Liked least: daylight flooding into the kids bedroom at the crack of dawn woke them up too early (the curtains didn't hold back the light very much)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing