We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived back after a weekend in Whitby with friends.
The Angel hotel is spot on!
Brill location, in the centre, but was very quiet during the night which surprised me to be honest.
The bedrooms are very modern, nicely decorated and well kept.
My friend left her purse in her room and the hotel contacted us within 30 mins to let us know. Big thank you for that!
The pub and food were also top notch.
Hope to see you again soon. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DebHowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    370
    80
    12
    11
See reviews for
147
692
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First time stop in a Wetherspoons Hotel. Wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. We stopped in room 203, a family room. Very spacious, tastefully decorated with a nice view of the harbour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A great location overlooking the harbour a good quality hotel and bar with a good standard of rooms over three floors which my partner said it was one of the better hotels in Whitby, will look forward to our return in the autumn. Wetherspoons with a gloss....

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors quieter, great standard of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYDAYS1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

stayed for 1 night staff very friendly stayed in double luxury room which was well worth the money good variety of food on offer at reasonable prices nice selection of beers
Room spotless could not of asked for more well worth another visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Ate here twice while on holiday in the area recently. Food was delicious and so cheap! The atmosphere was lovely. Couldn't find a single fault. Would go back tomorrow!

Only slight issue was they forgot our popadoms on curry night, but soon rectified this when we told the waiter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberleyanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My Fiancé and I stayed for 1 night on Valentines night. Reception staff were friendly when we went in to book the week before and when we checked in on the night. We stayed in a luxury double room which was absolutely gorgeous and spotlessly clean! Whenever we go anywhere we stay in Hilton hotels and I would say the standard of the room wasn't far from them. We had a meal in the restaurant and a few drinks which were lovely and great value. The only complain I have is that my Fiancé pre authorised his card when we checked in and when we settled the bill the card machine was down which meant they had to process it another way and the pre authorised amount will still be pending for 2 days when they can get the card company to release it which is a bit of a pain but can't be helped.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayeando92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 412 over looking the harbour. Room was spacious spotlessly clean and even had a telescope!!!!! Fantastic value for money at £89 per night. Hotel is linked to pub but couldn't hear a thing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yorksboy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#9 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing