We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight at the Angel, Whitby.”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overnight at the Angel, Whitby.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have mixed feelings about the Angel.It has recently had a multimillion pound renovation, so it's tastefully decorated in grey, black, and white. Room lighting, large-screen TV, quiet air conditioning system, and well-equipped bathroom were positive features. The room lacked drawer space, so we think only one or two night stays are feasible, because there is nowhere to store clothes, apart from the doorless hanging wardrobe.
The restaurant (a Weatherspoons)is also new and very fine, but the quality of the food is mainly poor, and eating out is a better option. I suggest an improvement in quality, even at a higher price could pay dividends.
All the staff were helpful, friendly, and polite.

While conveniently placed, there is no car park, so a public car park has to be used.
So come on, provide drawer space and improve the quality of the food, and see you popularity (and profits) soar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    369
    80
    12
    11
See reviews for
147
691
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
castleford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

just spent 3 nights in said hotel this is one of the best rooms i have ever stayed in,spotlesly clean fantastic staff nice veiw over harbour and abby prim location will be back later in year well done wetherspoons

Room Tip: pay that bit extra for harbour facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tempo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked four rooms for myself and friends for New Years Eve we had a wonderful stay all the rooms were clean and the beds were soo soo comfy but most of all the staff were so lovely and friendly they could not do enough to make you feel welcome. The free fill up of coffee on New Years Day was a god send as most of us needed caffeine to bring us round after toooo much alcohol the night before. Will defo revisit a big thanks to all staff xx

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

two nights spent in lovely comfy room in superking size bed with quality white bedlinen.Best place in Whitby.Liked the choices for breakfast also the flexible time.Will definately return.Lift was working but not a problem to climb a few stairs with easy acsess into the bar area.Awfull to sea the flood damage but can see all will be repaired soon. Well done Wetherspoons.a flagship hotel reborn from a derelict site.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stop here for one night the staff was very helpfully both in the hotel and pub. Very nice room on top floor but on the down side the lift was not working so had to walk up 3 lots of stairs. Will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent the weekend here and it was lovely.The hotel is modern and the rooms were spotless,love the white bedlinen.The staff were really nice as well.Couldnt fault a thing.Well done.Also the hotel is in a prime location by the harbour and within easy reach of everything.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just come back from a weekend in Whitby staying at The Angel Hotel. Room was lovely and clean but could do with a couple of draws for underwear. For the amount of time spent in the room it was comfortable. The staff are lovely and friendly. Would definitely recommend it. There is no parking at the Hotel but that didn't bother us as we just parked in The Endeavour Wharf long stay car park across the road. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing