We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twixtmas Break”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twixtmas Break”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

two nights spent in lovely comfy room in superking size bed with quality white bedlinen.Best place in Whitby.Liked the choices for breakfast also the flexible time.Will definately return.Lift was working but not a problem to climb a few stairs with easy acsess into the bar area.Awfull to sea the flood damage but can see all will be repaired soon. Well done Wetherspoons.a flagship hotel reborn from a derelict site.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    380
    83
    11
    11
See reviews for
152
707
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stop here for one night the staff was very helpfully both in the hotel and pub. Very nice room on top floor but on the down side the lift was not working so had to walk up 3 lots of stairs. Will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent the weekend here and it was lovely.The hotel is modern and the rooms were spotless,love the white bedlinen.The staff were really nice as well.Couldnt fault a thing.Well done.Also the hotel is in a prime location by the harbour and within easy reach of everything.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just come back from a weekend in Whitby staying at The Angel Hotel. Room was lovely and clean but could do with a couple of draws for underwear. For the amount of time spent in the room it was comfortable. The staff are lovely and friendly. Would definitely recommend it. There is no parking at the Hotel but that didn't bother us as we just parked in The Endeavour Wharf long stay car park across the road. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spacious room, very clean with a balcony over looking the harbour. The staff were helpful and friendly, everything good Wetherspoons value. All facilities were good and the fire inviting. Right in the centre of Whitby near to car parks etc. We liked it that much we booked for next year!

Room Tip: Luxury room with balcony over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night in November and it was a very pleasant stay indeed. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, clean and comfortable and the staff and service were excellent. A friendly greeting from reception on arrival and upon leaving and even when we returned late at night after a few drinks and carrying pizza's. Would definitely recommend this hotel and an advantage is that, unlike a lot of other hotel's in Whitby, you are able to stay for just one night when others demand a minimum 2 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were keen to see the revamped Angel after an extensive makeover by Wetherspoons and we were not disappointed. Everything is very smart with good sized rooms, some having very good views of the harbour. Bed was a good size and comfortable. The staff are pleasant and eager to help. Yes parking is a problem but not insurmountable, drop the luggage off and go and park up in the cliff area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#7 of 20 in Whitby
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing