We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Rooms Available But Children Not Allowed”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family Rooms Available But Children Not Allowed”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked a family room for the weekend and were impressed with the beamed room we were allocated with views over the harbour.

Only fault is children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 9pm even when a resident of the hotel. As we like to have a quiet drink before retiring to our room we were rather taken aback at this rule. The only solution the management could suggest was to take our drinks to our room but who wants to sit in their hotel room at 9pm when on holiday?

Suggest Wetherspoons point this rule out when families book!

Room Tip: Family room 314 is a lovely large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faz1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    369
    80
    12
    11
See reviews for
147
691
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a 2 night stay in the middle of October, friendly staff at check in and a stunning room , well decorated and well thought out , bed and pillows very comfy and lovely duvet, great to have a couple of chairs in the room to sit and look out of window or read rather than on the bed,
The first floor bar is also impressive.This would give any boutique hotel a run for their money.
A great standard of accommodation, Well done Wetherspoons ,

Room Tip: park at Tourist information car park for £6 for 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonlightlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very impressed, no surprises, good size tastefully furnished room. great views over the harbour.
Central location and very handy for food and drink at Weatherspoons downstairs. Very friendly smiling staff, would like to stay again if I return to North Yorks coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed at the Angel hotel on the 6th october for 1 night. The staff on checking in were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. The restaurant served reasonable food but the only suggestion is that the staff wiped the tables down outside as they quite wet due to other people drinking there. We would stay again and recommend it to family and friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, room was of a good standard, recently renovated by the looks of it and clean.
Bar area was quite busy however we were there on a Friday night.
Didn't eat on the evening but had breakfast which although was ok we had to wait 35 minutes for our food despite being told the wait would be 5-10 minutes.
No car park but there was public pay and display car parks nearby, cost £6 for 24 hours parking.
Overall is a decent hotel in a good location but make sure you allow ample time for breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night as I was interested how it had improved as I remember the old Angel Hotel which was not good. All I can say is the interior bars are to an excellent design and colour with a really up to date feel. Old photos of Whitby add to the generally good atmosphere. Our room was very clean decorated to modern standards with heating and air conditioning. We had a room that overlooked the abbey and unfortunatley the small lane below. The only down side was we stayed on a Saturdaty evening and was quite noisey in the late hours as young pub revelers turned out of the surrounding pubs. However this is an excellent place to stay with meals that are good and unexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a fabulous hotel; the staff are friendly, the rooms are amazing and overall a must visit hotel. We stayed for an overnight break and enjoyed it so much we went back again in August for 2 nights.
Whitby is a beautiful place to visit and The Angel has to be the best place to stay to see the sights; enjoy good food and meet great people.
I would highly recommend a visit, summer time is great as you can just sit either outside on on one of the balcony seats and watch the world go by.
I will definately go back

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the harbour, these are much better to see the sights. Its also better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Ang_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing