We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms lovely, Food Faux Pas!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
BEDFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms lovely, Food Faux Pas!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked a family room, had a lovely spacious room for four overlooking the harbour. Really clean and comfy. There was no drawer space though so lived out of the suitcases apart from a small hanging space. Not too much of an issue if just stopping a couple of nights.
We ate there for breakfast which is good value. Disappointed with the service on two occasions though. firstly went to the upper restaurant/bar at 8pm for a meal. When I went to order the food with my 14yr old boy the staff said they couldn't take my order because minors can't be in the bar after 9pm! There was a 1 1/2 hour wait for food orders and this would take us past 9pm. Firstly no restaurant should have such a long wait for meal orders, two customers had already decided ahead of me not to order because of the long waiting time. I had booked a family room but no where did I see clearly this 'rule' for the bar. The upper bar is predominantly people eating and should really be more family friendly if rooms are being sold as such. We had to leave and walk around to find somewhere else to eat that evening. The breakfasts looked good, the following morning we had forgiven and went down for breakfast. At 10.15 I ordered two toasts and two bacon butties. Our drinks were served and we waited for our hot food. Lots of large cooked breakfasts went by, at 10.55 I went to ask for our money back. The staff were good about this but our drinks were cold and it was nearly lunchtime, so we went for fish and chips instead.
Rooms good, food service could be improved.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a harbour view. It's fabulous. Others down the rear and sides of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WENDY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    321
    72
    10
    8
See reviews for
123
600
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

JanSGlos is lucky...we booked the balcony room in may and arranged our break around its availability on 9th Sept 2013.
Obviously when we arrived we were told it wasn't available we were offered room 412 which on entry seemed a very acceptable substitute....until we saw it had not been cleaned from previous occupant. After complaining to manager who we do not blame as she tried to help as best she could we were shown a couple of other rooms as cleaning 412 was not an option!? As it took us nearly 3hrs to drive up we agreed to stay in one. By 6.45am we were woken by a refrigerated lorry under window delivering for over an hour with the motor running constantly.

Room Tip: balcony rooms cannot be saved online even if you have reserved with hotel but the hotel doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Can't fault this hotel for location, bedrooms, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff. If you can, try to book the 2 superior rooms at the front of the hotel. They have balconies and look over the delightful harbour. The rooms were big, comfy beds and brilliant showers. We ate there in the evening as it has the added bonus of being a Wetherspoon, so good value eating and drinking too.
If we were to return to Whitby, which we loved, there is no-where else we would consider staying.
Only problem is the seagulls, which is nothing to do with the hotel. They are ruining the west country sea sides as well so when oh when are they going to be culled?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent four nights at the angel last week. We couldn't fault anything about it. The staff were great, the room was lovely and the position of the hotel, made it central for everything. Not having a car park was not a problem, as we parked in the one opposite and used the loading area outside the Angel to load and unload our car. We are going back to stay there in December, and I can't wait. Well done to everyone concerned with the Angel at Whitby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel, fantastic room, fantastic location, fantastic value. ...breakfast was good value and cooked to order..the rooms have recently been modernised and have been finished to a high standered....all in all cant fsult this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunner63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

So refreshing to see a hotel in this price range where some genuine thought has gone into the decoration of the rooms. A nice suprise. The only downsides were that they didn't have hotel parking, which made things a little awkward. Breakfast is not included in the price but you can still get a large variety of breakfast choices , while your'e in the hotel at a small price. Overall i really liked this hotel and the double room was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Angel for 1 night and although it's clean and recently refurbished I was not particularly impressed.
There is a pub next door where food is served and it is connected to the hotel and of course run by the same chain the 2 establishments should in my opinion be treated as separate entities so I will not review the food here.
Our room was situated to the side of the hotel with a narrow view of the harbour. Unfortunately there were some very noisy seagulls in close proximatey and while I accept you are going to get that in a coastal town hotel I would have been nice if we could have closed the window to muffle the sound but this wasn't practical as it was a warm evening and all the large aircon unit on the wall above the bed did was blow the ambient air around even on the lowest setting.
The other bizarre aspect of the room was the sloping floor which meant that there was a large gap under one end of the bottom edge of the door.
The staff at reception were pleasant and efficient enough but delivered information on the hotel as if speed reading it from a script so there was no time to take any of it in.
The most disappointing thing for me is that there is no parking near the hotel so it's a bit of a trek with your luggage to the nearest pay and display car park.
However even with all of the above issues it is still probably the best hotel in Whitby so if you need to be there give it a go.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank china_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing