We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but noisey”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night 28th June. The hotel itself if fine nice reception good staff and the bedroom had everything we could need for our nights stay. Comfy bed very clean great bathroom.

We stopped in room 406 on the top floor at the rear of the hotel. Unfortunately the room was very noisey with the dozens of seagulls that converged out side our window. I know stopping at the coast this is somthing you should expect. Just below our window was a flat roof ( the kitchen roof i think) and they were nesting on this roof. They did not stop screaching all night.

In the morning there was a power cut in the hotel. We may have been able to cope with no power but as the water in the hotel was pumped there was no hot or cold water either. We did complain at reception but was told we should contact weatherspoons direct which i have done.

Would i stay here again? no. But it is one of the very few places in whitby that you can stay for just one night most other place you have to stay for two. So if you do stay here i would ask for a room on the ground floor and may be at the front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend as part of a sea fishing trip. Arriving on the Saturday pulling up outside it was a wetherspoons pub with a hotel included and outside there large parties of hen and stag people about. So what was the hotel going to be like ?. Well it was a pleasant surprise as the reception was clean and the staff themselves excellent plus on arrival at the room we had an excellent room, full bath and widescreen TV. Have to say it was still quite noisy outside but not the hotels fault just it's location. Breakfast was extra each morning but good value for money. So overall good place to stay but perhaps not on a Saturday night if you are looking for peace and quite.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We end up there by pure chance. Although it was a weekday we couldn't find a single room in a child friendly B&B. We were getting tired and decided to try this Weatherspoon's hotel. I am glad we did it. It was exactly what we needed. Our family room was fantastic. Modern, spacious and beautifully decorated. We had a huge TV on the wall and amazing shower. We had half a view (some rooms have a full view of the harbour, some none) but still beautiful. The location is perfect, leave you car at the long term parking right in front of the hotel and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this Whetherspoons Hotel in mid June. Paid £99 for a family room and before travelling our expectations weren't very high. SURPRISE. Very well appointed, recently renovated modern room. Our huge room was the front of the hotel and overlooked the harbour. Excellent value for money - better than some 4Star Hilton hotels we have stayed in. Well done Wetherspoons!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised at this weathspoon's hotel, I was on there mailing list and when this came through we booked straight away. We had two nights in a family room in whitsun half term.

I can not fault the hotel or the staff, the refurbishment was to a very high standard and the rooms, beds everything is brand new, so was great. We had a room over looking the harbour which was nice with two big windows. I did hear some noise in the morning to be honest think it was the barrels of beer being delivered as the pub and restaurant was so busy.
We had breakfast here which was fantastic value, meal on the first night and drinks as our room was easy accessible for my 11 year old when he wanted to go and watch T.V in the room.
Defiantly recommend to anyone coming to Whitby with a child.
Thanks and we will be trying out some of the other refurbished hotels in the weathspoons chain.

Room Tip: we had family room that was on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hairy964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights on a room only basis, and we had one of the disabled rooms. It was very good but would have loved some drawers to put things in - they obviously have catered for one nighter's in their plans! The beds (twin) were extremely comfortable, and the room was spacious. Being on a main street the noise in the evening (and earlly morning) was a little noisy - but that is to be expected when staying in a central position. It is has only recently been refurbished so everything is quite new. The staff (with one exception) were extremely helpful and pleasant. The Saturday evening, sat in the first floor bar at one of the window seats was fist class entertainment watching the young, and not so young, coming and going. If you want to see Whitby without climbing hills - this is the place to stay. The only drawback is parking - go into the Tourist Bureau for a discounted price. The car park is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Tried for a few weeks to get a room, was full every time, which is always a good sign. Stayed for 1 night. Fantastic location & rooms, great shower. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. This hotel is showing Whitby how its done. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing