We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous seaside break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
75 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
louisacar...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous seaside break”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the second time we've stopped at Maritimus cottage and I'm certain it won't be the last. The views from each room are amazing. Very clean and comfortable. My 4 & 6 year old love it here...such a good location...seconds from a little beach. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you all enjoyed the cottages' comfort and the views over the harbour. The beach beneath the house is great fun for children. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmas6612
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location for beach, abbey, shops and 119 steps”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was nicely presented and is in a super location for experiencing Whitby. We had a great stay and enjoyed being in quite a quiet location but near the hustle and bustle. Super family bathroom. Only problem was there didn't seem to be any blinds/curtains in the bedroom window upstairs so we had to fashion a curtain out of a blanket! Also the bedlinen is feathers which is a problem for allergy people so luckily I had brought my own pillow! Would be happy to stay at the cottage again to enjoy the amazing Whitby beaches/piers etc. Was a lovely holiday!

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry about the upstairs blinds - the previous wooden blinds didn't fit the front of the dorma windows that were all replaced last year. I'll look into alternatives for this. I'll also swap the duvet / pillow spares at the cottage for anti-allergen ones for future guests use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here in April 2017. Beautiful little cottage right in a central location. Small beach just outside the cottage which was perfect for my little boy. Just a few steps away from the Main Street in the old part of Whitby. The cottage is quite small but it is well presented. Furnished lovely and lots of quirky little features. Beautiful views of the harbour from living room and bedroom windows. The only downside was no parking, there are lots of paid car parks a short walk away but as we went at quite a busy time these were often pretty full, but this didn't bother us too much as we always found a space. Overall really enjoyed our stay. If we were to return to Whitby we would definitely consider staying in maritimus cottage again

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage and it's location next to the beach and old town shops and restaurants. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weekender...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So central”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our 2nd visit to this lovely cottage. So central and views are stunning. The stairs are quirky,cottage very clean and comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and comfort of the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFriend29
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the cottage in late April. 2 couples, one with a baby.

Great facilities, nice dining kitchen area, all open plan with the living room so it was very good for chatting whilst preparing food. The downstairs room also fits a travel cot well.

I can see why people have commented on the steps as the internal stair case was a bit unusual- I wouldn't recommend it for elderly guests/guests unsteady on their feet. However, I was happy enough going up and down it holding a baby, just took care.

The cottage really is in a great location right in the middle of the older part of town, not far from the steps up to the abbey. It was great to sit and look out onto the harbour and watch the boats coming and going.

Parking near by at church street car park was handy.

I'd recommend a stay here to explore the town.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage, it's location and the views across the harbour. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
483flo
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easter Jolly”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I had a wonderful stay. The cottage was lovely and clean with modern facilities throughout
The beds were extremely comfortable and views over the harbour were great.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the comforts of the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie049
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tardis”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Love this cottage, it's like a Tardis, looks really small from the outside, but once you get through the front door it's amazing! The views are fabulous!, and it's just off Church Street, an enviable position..... We've rented this cottage the last two years in February and will do so again ( if it's vacant)... brilliant place

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you for your review. I never thought of the cottage like that before ... but the cottage size is deceptive and location and views are a hidden gem. I look forward the welcoming you back to Whitby on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing