We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So central”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
weekender...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So central”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our 2nd visit to this lovely cottage. So central and views are stunning. The stairs are quirky,cottage very clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and comfort of the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFriend29
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the cottage in late April. 2 couples, one with a baby.

Great facilities, nice dining kitchen area, all open plan with the living room so it was very good for chatting whilst preparing food. The downstairs room also fits a travel cot well.

I can see why people have commented on the steps as the internal stair case was a bit unusual- I wouldn't recommend it for elderly guests/guests unsteady on their feet. However, I was happy enough going up and down it holding a baby, just took care.

The cottage really is in a great location right in the middle of the older part of town, not far from the steps up to the abbey. It was great to sit and look out onto the harbour and watch the boats coming and going.

Parking near by at church street car park was handy.

I'd recommend a stay here to explore the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage, it's location and the views across the harbour. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
483flo
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easter Jolly”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I had a wonderful stay. The cottage was lovely and clean with modern facilities throughout
The beds were extremely comfortable and views over the harbour were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the comforts of the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie049
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tardis”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Love this cottage, it's like a Tardis, looks really small from the outside, but once you get through the front door it's amazing! The views are fabulous!, and it's just off Church Street, an enviable position..... We've rented this cottage the last two years in February and will do so again ( if it's vacant)... brilliant place

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you for your review. I never thought of the cottage like that before ... but the cottage size is deceptive and location and views are a hidden gem. I look forward the welcoming you back to Whitby on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and all it's surroundings. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KSander1
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem in Whitby”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a week in Maritimus in late November. The cottage is ideally placed just off of Church Street, overlooking the harbour & within a few minutes walk of numerous pubs, restaurants, the Abbey & all the Whitby attractions. It's obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into the cottage and we had a very comfortable & enjoyable week. If travelling by car, the nearest car park is a 2 or 3 minute walk away and a prepaid ticket costs £49 for 7 days (as at November 2016). We found that finding a parking space on a Friday or Saturday evening was tricky and the next nearest car park is a few more minutes walk away but this was no problem for us.

All in all an enjoyable stay & we'd definitely love to stay in Maritimus again when returning to Whitby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Many thanks for your review. I do like to ensure that the cottage has that home away from home feel and, given its location, makes your holiday more enjoyable throughout. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the harbour
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the harbour view - watching everything that goes on throughout the day and into the night can be a full time holiday occupation. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing