We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely views, right in the heart of Whitby”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maritimus Cottage

A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach. The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
58 reviews
A view of the riverside cottages - Maritimus 2nd from the right
A view of the cottage from the riverside beach.
The view from the front room .... you don't get closer to the river and beach than this !!
Master bedroom benefits from en-suite facilities, solid oak furniture, wardrobe and bedside table.
Additional double bedroom with fabulous views across the harbour.
View from the upstairs double bedroom window.
Single bedroom with views across the harbour.
Lounge area with 40 inch flat screen TV, DVD and Sky TV.
View from the lounge window
Family bathroom with large shower and roll top bath.
Modern galley kitchen with induction hob and oven, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NiggleNog...
2 reviews
“Lovely views, right in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A well appointed and well equipped cottage, very quiet considering where its situated. Good views of the harbour.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were happy with the furnishings and facilities at the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balance between maintaining the quirkiness whilst providing up to date facilities
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the closeness of the old town centre with all its shops and restaurants. Eating out is never an issue but I like to make sure you have the comforts of home if you do decide to cook. The cottage is over 300 years old and, as such, steps and low ceilings have to be watched out for - I speak from experience. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel G
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, amazing views...”
Reviewed January 9, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I spent a weekend in this cottage with my partner last December and it couldn't have been better!
I was a bit worried that it might have been a bit noisy due to it being just off the Rowing Club, but we could not hear a thing! The views are to die for, both when the tide is in and when it's out. The cottage was very clean and we found it to be more than spacious. There are 2 double rooms and a single room. Both double rooms looked so nice that it was hard to choose which one to sleep in! The toilet downstairs is a bit small, but the bathroom upstairs is very nice! We thoroughly enjoyed admiring the views while having breakfast in the bright kitchen and it was fantastic being in the middle of Whitby old town and having a little beach just steps from the cottage. We couldn't have enjoyed it more!

Definitely recommended for a romantic weekend away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the fantastic sea views from the front room - and all the bedrooms. I hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saturdayb...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful cottage, in an incredible location - right in the middle of Whitby but in an alley so off the main road (though the alley is shared with the rowing club bar). From the front window you can watch the tide coming in, and dogs playing on the beach when it's out. Sky TV and broadband were a nice luxury for when we didn't feel like moving; the furnishing shows the signs of wear you'd expect at the end of the season, but is generally of high quality.
My only piece of advice to potential stayers- there are beds for five, but the amount of space available is rather on the bijou side - five adults here for a week would knocking against each other a lot.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the fantastic sea views. The cottage is small - it is over 300 years old - but I'll get on the case to provide more seating cushions to make things less crowded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martlesha...
suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent ... all we could hope for”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

avoid Scarboreough and go to Pickering... and dont eat at the Quayside fish place choose Mister CHips far far better....

whitby and the property were lovely but the cottage might be difficult for elderly/young families due to the stairs to access.. but we had a really lovely time and thought Whitby and the property were lovely...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quaint and clean
Liked least: too many dogs in WHitby
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed staying in the cottage. I would recommend Pickering for a day out especially if the steam train is running from Whitby. The cottage does have outside steps to the front door and these are always carefully maintained.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendiH4
Merseyside UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but a few issues”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, so let's start with the good points. this beach cottage is in a perfect location - very close to everything in gorgeous Whitby with absolutely magnificent views. The fixtures and fittings are of a high standard and it is really pretty, also has Sky TV and wi-fi. Now for the less good points. It is much smaller than it looks on the pics. We were a group of 3 - self, hubby and teenage son. Basically - we filled the place. Yes, it does sleep 5, but 5 would not be able to relax together in the lounge or eat together unless you liked to get very up close and personal. Secondly - I'm assuming it's because we went late summer, but the cottage is looking a bit shabby internally - especially the kitchen/lounge. It needs a lick of paint and a damn thorough clean! The wheelie bin hadn't been emptied in weeks (I'm sure this isn't the owners fault, but after chatting to a very nice chap who swept the roads every day - the instructions for leaving the bin out were totally wrong) and there were piles of rubbish and a broken telly in the little yard - again I don't think it was the owners fault, but it didn't give a very good first impression. But my most negative point which I feel needs to be addressed urgently is the smell that comes from the en-suite. It stinks! The en-suite uses a Saniflo pump. I'm not sure if they always smell - but this one certainly did, it was really unpleasant. I tried phoning the agent to report it, but I couldn't get an answer from them.
A few tips as well. This cottage is definitely not suitable if you are mobility impaired. The access to the cottage is via either a steep slope or steps, there are then steps up to the cottage. The stairs inside the cottage are freaky - I suggest if you are staying with young children you take a stair gate (and if you are over 6ft - you take a hard hat!)
So - this is a lovely cottage in a great location, but it really needs to be taken out of service for a couple of weeks to give it a decorate and a deep clean. It would also be nice if the owner invested in a parking permit for the use of guests. I know we went peak season, but when we arrived it took us nearly an hour of driving around Whitby to find a space. I'm going to click "yes" I would recommend to a friend as the location is brilliant, and deep down the cottage is gorgeous, but I would recommend that they check it has had a bit of a re-furb first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The smell
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage beach location and proximity to the old town. Apologies for the kitchen and en-suite area. I have followed this up with the cleaning agent who will check those areas specifically in future - but, in the case of the kitchen, I always hope the previous guests leave pots & pans etc in a clean state. The Whitby parking situation is poor in the old town and we have to rely on public car parks as there are no parking permits available for holiday cottages. Finally I have checked with the local council and they have agrred to speak to the bin collectors who must have missed the pick up day you mentioned.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerrismit...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located comfortable cottage”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well located close to the harbour, town and shops. However, not very well equipped if you are self catering e.g. no cleaning cloths to wipe down worktops.
The beds were comfortable but the sofa was less so. The cottage would benefit from some new cushions. Otherwise we had no complaints and would pribably stay there again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am gald you enjoyed staying at the cottage. I will ensure that cleaning clothes, sponges etc are made available in future and I have organised new soft furnishings for the sofa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing