We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, first class ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fisherman's Wife

The Fisherman's Wife
Ranked #15 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fisherman's Wife serves traditional fish and chips along with an extensive range of seafood and other dishes at its superb seafood restaurant in the beautiful seaside town of Whitby. With high quality, locally sourced ingredients our friendly, helpful staff will serve you fantastic fish and chips in our light and airy restaurant whilst you sit back and enjoy some of the best views in Whitby.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent, first class ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I tried the 2 course special which was a classic prawn cocktail, followed by grilled fillet of salmon, spiced cous cous and fennel. Both were a joy to eat, freshly cooked, well presented and filled a hole nicely. Great value and friendly efficient service. Can't wait to return. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank coolsyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    254
    53
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“over rated over priced poor people skills”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went in with my partner but only one of us wanted a meal this did not suit waitress . We had planed just to share the meal and have a drink each one tea and one beer the waitress told us it wasnt policy to serve two drinks when only one meal was ordered we left in protest and found a friendly restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

What a lovely place, the waitresses coudl not do enough for you and the food was delicious, high recommended the makerel pate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank deborah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

In recent years we have given this restaurant a miss - its somewhere we used to take our children too thirty or so years ago (before it was called the fishermans wife). However this year it was raining so heavily instead of walking past we decided to go in. We had a really lovely meal and the staff were really attentive without being in your face. Its a shame it was dark because in the light it has a fantastic sea view. After having walked past it so many times we will not do so again. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I was hesitant about paying this much for fish and chips, as I normally eat out of paper, however, big birthday weekend for 11 of us. 6 adults, 5 children, 1 high chair. We were shown to an amazing window view, seated easily and not over fussed. Most of us had the fish and chips, but I had the fish cakes, which were amazing, really amazing, best chips ever. Service was lovely, staff pleasant, clean and tidy. Children enjoyed it, crayons and colouring. Really easy place, worth the money, a real treat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank clare i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Wife also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Fisherman's Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing