We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Haglathe House

Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in. Ground floor dining kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in.
Ground floor dining kitchen.
Original range used by Fortune family to smoke kippers.  (For decoration only.)
Staircase leading from kitchen to living room on first floor.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room leading to back bedroom with twin beds.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor back bedroom with twin beds and sloping roof.
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with authentic open fire (for decoration only)
Top floor en-suite shower room
Top floor en-suite shower room
View from window of top floor en-suite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Ann W
1 review
“Wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect location. Wonderful clean and cosy accommodation. Would definitely stay again. Very handy for the abbey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
So pleased you loved our house and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vivi W
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would love to live here”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a beautiful cottage,felt relaxed as soon as we got there ,a real home from home.I don't think anything as been overlooked,my room in the attic was brilliant I do agree with another review that it was a bit too light in bedroom but I think that is being addressed the twin beds were found to be a bit uncomfortable but all in all a great time had by all ,everyone's experience is different to others and it cannot be perfect for everyone's tastes but I loved it ,can't see why anyone would complain about anything the only thing if anything was I didn't have a long enough stay ,would love to own this property,a piece of paradise on earth,well done Liz and Denny and thanks again for creating some special memories

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
We are so pleased that you had a good time Vivi - it's important to us. You're the first guests to mention that the single beds aren't very comfortable so thanks for letting us know - we'll replace them when we next go over to do maintenance. We do love the house and really appreciate owning it. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazbaz2
Leeds, England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Memorable weekend - lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent communication with owner from start to end ( return of refundable deposit).
Cottage is in an idyllic setting but on busy cobbled road in old town - busy with people not cars. Parking in NOT available nearby but host gives ample advise regarding this. We were a group of 5 adults and one BIG dog. We dropped off our things for weekend and husband drove around searching parkink spot ( ended up near railway station where car stayed for whole of weekend).
Cottage was to celebrate my eldest sons 30th - nice touch was to have a birthday card on table for him when we arrive ( Thankyou). There are dog biscuits too ( for dog not son!!). Nice touches / welcoming.
Cottage is right next to historic fortune kippers - people in past comment about smoking smell - sorry, but what do you expect. The cottage is very homely, has personal artifacts and lots of picture. You do feel that you are in a quaint home rather than a sterile holiday let. Kitchen s well equipped. Youngest son made 3 course meal!
You will not get a better placed cottage in Whitby. Little stroll and down steps yo can reach a small beach for dog walk or play with little ones. View from upper floor bathroom can see the sea and church clock through velux when laid on bed.
Liz you really really do need to get a blind for velux in upper bedroomed. This is my one big criticism - the light streams in from daft O'clock and does affect sleep quality!!!
Lovely roll top bath in house bathroom. Practical comment - as most people prefer showers this requires all guests to share the ensuite on upper floor bedroom. Door is full glass!!!
All in all brilliant accommodation on very ambient street in heart of Whitby.
My main negative (and I mean spitting feathers!!!) is not about the accommodation or the host is that booking accommodation via TripAdvisor cost me £80 more than booking direct on owners website. I used TA as specifically searching dog friendly accommodation. I guess that TA 'advertising' rules will not permit me to add link. Tip....... Google check Haglathe House www in reverse.
PS..... Send me 10% of your savings LOL

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thanks for your review. We assume you mean the wooden Velux at the front of the house as the Church View Velux does have a blind. We will fit one to the other window too. Also, we'd never thought about the frosted glass in the shower room door, maybe I'll put a curtain on there. Thanks for your website pointer to other guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant time”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage everything we needed really clean all cleaning stuff available to use will be booking again for a brilliant weekend in Whitby

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
We are really pleased that you loved Haglathe House, Jackie, and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house in an amazing location - This house is fantastic, spotlessly clean and tidy with everything at hand. Spent a few days in this amazing house for husband's "special" birthday with friends and our 13 year old daughter, we had a wonderful time, ideal spot for beach, restaurants, shops and exploring!
(Liz and Denny many thanks for birthday card, nice touch), loved every minute of our stay and hope to return soon. Brilliant place, one of the nicest properties we have stayed in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time for your special birthday celebrations and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. We know how hard you work to earn a holiday so it's important to us that you have a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Haglathe House. The house was in the perfect location; 2 mins from the 199 steps to the Abbey and the same for shops, cafes, pubs/restaurants and there were steps down to a small beach area. Oh and don't forget it's next door to the famous Fortunes Kippers! They were yummy! The house itself is beautifully well-kept town house with 3 floors. We had 2 couples and a friend staying so it gave us plenty of space. We were given lots of really useful information in the welcome pack so we didn't have to contact the owner for anything during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
We are so pleased you had a good time and loved our house as much as we do. It is really important to us that our guests have a good holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing