We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday Celebrations”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Haglathe House

Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in. Ground floor dining kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Haglathe House is a beautiful house, on a beautiful street, in a particularly beautiful town.
Ground floor dining kitchen.  Ideal for spending a sociable night in.
Ground floor dining kitchen.
Original range used by Fortune family to smoke kippers.  (For decoration only.)
Staircase leading from kitchen to living room on first floor.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room with beamed ceiling.
First floor living room leading to back bedroom with twin beds.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor front bedroom with double bed and beamed ceilings.
First floor back bedroom with twin beds and sloping roof.
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
First Floor Bathroom with Victorian Cast Iron Bath
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with king size bed and tv/dvd.
Spacious top floor en-suite bedroom with authentic open fire (for decoration only)
Top floor en-suite shower room
Top floor en-suite shower room
View from window of top floor en-suite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house in an amazing location - This house is fantastic, spotlessly clean and tidy with everything at hand. Spent a few days in this amazing house for husband's "special" birthday with friends and our 13 year old daughter, we had a wonderful time, ideal spot for beach, restaurants, shops and exploring!
(Liz and Denny many thanks for birthday card, nice touch), loved every minute of our stay and hope to return soon. Brilliant place, one of the nicest properties we have stayed in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time for your special birthday celebrations and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. We know how hard you work to earn a holiday so it's important to us that you have a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Haglathe House. The house was in the perfect location; 2 mins from the 199 steps to the Abbey and the same for shops, cafes, pubs/restaurants and there were steps down to a small beach area. Oh and don't forget it's next door to the famous Fortunes Kippers! They were yummy! The house itself is beautifully well-kept town house with 3 floors. We had 2 couples and a friend staying so it gave us plenty of space. We were given lots of really useful information in the welcome pack so we didn't have to contact the owner for anything during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2017
We are so pleased you had a good time and loved our house as much as we do. It is really important to us that our guests have a good holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant cottage in a beautiful location. very well equipped”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This must be one of the most beautiful cottages in one of the best streets in Whitby! The location was excellent, very close to all amenities on a cobbled street in the old part of the town. Spread over 3 floors it was very spacious even for 6 quests and offered an en-suite bedroom as well as a very spacious bathroom. Plenty of seating areas both in the lounge and the dining area plus a modern and well equipped kitchen. We chose one of the coldest weekends of the year but the heating was automatically controlled which could be overridden manually for particularly coId spells. I would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to the next time I visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and the location
Liked least: Lack of parking facilities but found adequate parking close by
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Thanks for your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to Haglathe House again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quaint well equipped cottage in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just celebrated friends' s special birthday weekend here. Ideal spot minutes from shopping, eating and drinking establishments yet tucked away in this quiet enclave near the Kipper shop.
Modern facilities enhanced by the charm and character of original features, particularly loved the 1st floor lounge, great for afternoon tea pre and post dinner drinks. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and convenient
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Thanks. So pleased you had a good time. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ephotozin...
Notts, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay!”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I don't usually feel compelled to leave reviews but feel I must pass on a few warnings if you are considering booking this house.

Although Liz was very nice in her communications before and during the stay, I must feedback how disappointing the weekend was, intended as a celebratory break for my father's 70th birthday.

Whilst the cottage has lovely kerb appeal and is well situated there were a number of things that needed pointing out to the owners during and after our stay. I have listed these below...

1. There was no heating, in October, as the 'Nest' box operating the heating was faulty. Heating is fundamentally necessary at any time in Whitby, but particularly October (in fact, we all purposefully stayed out on Saturday to avoid the cold in the cottage!)

2. The shower cubicle was incredibly small. Also we thought there may be a shower attachment on the bath in the main bathroom as everyone in our group takes showers, and to try and organise 6 people for this was time-consuming particularly given we wanted to get out because of how cold it was.

3. The top bedroom had the blind hanging off, which I reported immediately, but looked tatty and let light directly in. Additionally the second skylight had no blind on so light came streaming through this as well. The combination meant my sister and brother-in-law were awake early as a result.

4. We slept in the double room at the front. We didn’t realise that the outside street lamp was directly outside the window. Whilst this is out of the owner's control thick curtains or a blackout blind are an absolute necessity as we didn’t get much sleep as a result either.

5. There is only space for 5 people/adults to sit in the lounge though it's supposed to cater for 6.

6. We went to get glasses to celebrate my Father's 70th (the whole purpose of the visit) and there were no champagne flutes (we normally find them as standard wherever we go) and more surprisingly there were no matching wine glasses for us all; In fact only 2 matched.

7. Toilet and kitchen roll was thin on the ground so we had to buy some. We expected sufficient as a basic.

The owner Liz didn't respond to our email so I chased her again and got a reply apologising about the heating and blind but that the heating was out of their control and the previous guests hadn't mentioned the blind so assumed it was fixed.

Yes she provided 2 small heaters around 7pm on the Saturday, when the weekend was almost over, so that wasn't anywhere near sufficient. She ended with a comment suggesting that we just don't like their house. That was not the case and I'm surprised she didn't accept the fault on their part for the heating and the constructive criticism of the rest.

Heating is a fundamental basic requirement in any property. We actually stayed out all Saturday, not wanting to go back to a freezing house.

The problems with the heating were not out of the owner's control as Liz suggested. As a business owner they should be able to deal with any and all eventualities.

I couldn't get in touch with them when discovering the problem with the heating because there was no signal in the house at all, due to the old/thick walls.
My husband had to go to the viewing point outside and up the road to get a signal to phone the emergency contacts they list on their 'info' sheet. The guy just laughed when my husband explained why he was calling! He said he'd 'done bits and pieces' for them in the past 'but couldn't help'! By which time we decided to let Liz know the problem and try enjoy the rest of the night, covered in quilts at the kitchen table (as that was the only place with enough seats to accommodate everyone).

We didn't even consider using the fire in the lounge because it clearly stated downstairs not to use the one in the kitchen, so we assumed the same. Besides which, as I said, there were not enough seats to accommodate all 6 of us in the lounge anyway.

The weekend was a huge disappointment, which was intended as such a special occasion.

Regarding the other points made, I would've thought the owners would take them in the manner they were intended (as constructive criticism / areas to improve). Whether they choose to do something about them or not is purely up to them but I'm sure it will be what past and future guests will think too (although may not say) - we are not particularly fussy people! A lot of people don't bother with feedback, they simply don't return.

The blind in the bedroom for example: because the previous guests hadn't 'said anything' doesn't mean it shouldn't be checked. The housekeeper was aware of it when I contacted her - she said she 'didn't have a screwdriver to fix it' and that was it!
The street light directly outside the bedroom window - all that needs is a blackout blind but I currently defy anyone to sleep well in there.
6 adults having to have a 'rota' for the one small shower on the top floor - it's simply impractical at best.
Not enough seating in the lounge to accommodate 6 adults comfortably.
No matching glasses for 6 people.
No flutes.
All easily remedied but obviously chosen to ignore.

Considering the amount of competition in Whitby of top quality accommodation I'm surprised at the owner's rather blasé attitude, simply writing off our justified complaints saying we don't like their house.

Coming away with flu, bad memories and embarrassing apologies to my fellow guests is not what I had in mind to celebrate my Father's 70th birthday.

So, all I'd say is take heed of the above when looking to book somewhere in Whitby.
Like I say, Liz was very nice beforehand but as you can see the weekend was a huge disappointment all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Broken heating in October and thin curtains letting streetlight in the bedroom!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
We are truly sorry that Tracey and her family had such problems with the heating. We really endeavoured to get it repaired but our usual electrician was on holiday and we had problems finding another who could go at short notice. We only had a mobile number for Tracey and, as they didn't follow the advice which was in the information they received prior to their stay to place mobile phones on the windowsill so that they could get a signal, we could only contact them via email. The email address supplied by Tracey returned an "out of office" message. When we did manage to get through to Tracey on Friday night she said that they would be OK until Saturday so our housekeeper went to the house on Saturday afternoon to see if she could help with the heating. As she couldn’t, we supplied two oil fired radiators. Tracey’s comment that we didn’t apologise for the problem with the heating is untrue. We took it very seriously and did our utmost to get it repaired. The main item on our listing is that there is an open fire on the first floor. We had been advised about the problem with the blind on the top floor and asked our housekeeper to repair it. Then, as the guests before Tracey stayed without mentioning it, we assumed that it had been repaired. There is a black-out blind in the first floor front bedroom – we assume that Tracey just didn’t see it. We now have a second electrician and two new handymen so hope to be in a better position to deal with emergencies, which luckily, as we maintain the house regularly, don’t often arise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A perfect place to stay with friends or family”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was very comfortable and well set up for either eating in or dining out. The location was perfect near to all attractions but away from night time noise. The information and communication between the owner is very good prompt and helpful.
The only improvement I would suggest is having more than one key.As there were six of us we had to keep meeting up to exchange the key.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and attic bedroom
Liked least: Limited access with only one key
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Hi. There should have been a spare key hanging in the kitchen. We are sorry it wasn't there for you but thanks for letting us know, we'll check with our housekeeper. We are so happy that you loved Haglathe House and had a nice stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie049
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cracking place.”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners of Haglathe House were brilliant from our first enquiry, they emailed information about events in Whitby when we were there, to letting us know that we wouldn't have to leave at the regular time as there was no incoming guests, brilliant service!
Haglathe House is wonderful, spacious,warm and welcoming , there is a lovely view from the en-suite bathroom......., it is in located in a fabulous place, a stones throw from the bottom of the 199 Steps, and 2 excellent pubs. We would happily return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
Thanks for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon. So glad you loved our house as much as we do. It's always our pleasure to help as much as we can because it is important to us that you have a good time and take back positive thoughts of Whitby. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing