We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”
Review of The Board Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Board Inn
Ranked #91 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Warm friendly welcome and offer to sample excellent draught Christmas ale before buying was first impression that we'd stumbled on good pub after a long walk round Whitby and the surrounding coastline on a cold and breezy Saturday afternoon. Whilst enjoying our pint and admiring the panoramic views of the harbour we decided after seeing several other customers dining that we would have a snack to put us on until dinner back at our hotel. Whilst the fish and chips looked very tempting we went for the lighter option of the crab sandwiches which were generously filled, very tasty and good value for money. Would definitely recommend the Board and will be back on our next visit to Whitby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M5bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
22
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

After a lovely wander around Whitby we stopped for a quick drink and found the pub and choice of real ales fantastic. Smelling the food, we thought we would stop for a bite as well. We were ushered down some steps to a lovely room with a fantastic view of the harbour - so far so good. Unfortunately from this point it went down hill.
The tables were crammed in so closely that it was impossible to sit as they were set and instead, one of our party had to sit on the end due to no space from the occupants of the next table. Still we thought we would give it a go as the food did look delicious.
Placing our order, we sat and waited patiently, and waited and waited.... After three quarters of an hour, no warning when we ordered - only a small sign saying food cooked to order. This wasn't a problem as we were prepared to wait, just didn't realise it including catching the fish as well.
All was forgiven when the food arrived - primarily because we could have eaten a rabid horse and still been glad at that point. The wonderful memory of the upstairs bar was slowly disappearing.
The fish was amazing - piping hot with crispy batter - lovely however, the chips were anaemic and like warm, the order was wrong, both mushy peas and garden pease were only slightly warm, the baguette was not fresh but filling (crab) was nice. Overall a horrendous experience that was by no way redeemed by the beautiful view.
The waitress found it difficult to smile but to be fair was polite when we did get to speak with her.
The price of the meals was reasonable and would have been really please had there have been more room to manoeuvre (even sit properly at the table) and the rest of the food to a better standard.
I understand that in the current economic climate, they will wish to serve as many people as possible, but to cram in 46 seats in that tiny room - ruins what could be a jewel in Whitby's crown

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvienero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've had lunch at The Board Inn twice and on both occasions it's been really good. There is a good range of well kept beer, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly. We will return when we next visit Whitby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat99L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent pub with nice beers on tap. It has great views from the restaurant area. We didn't eat but the food coming out for others looked good. Bar staff polite and friendly.

Children are welcome until 9 pm as long as they are not in the bar area.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trippyricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

- Lovely view of the harbour etc
- friendly staff. One of my family members had a bad back, so we had assistance.
- I don't eat much in one sitting so asked for the children's cod bites. These were delicious!

- the chips weren't very nice. Used to be homemade, now just oven chips fried in a frier. Please change them back!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank geraldinevickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited the board inn and had the sunday lunch,it was lovely, we had the roast beef and Yorkshires, lots of veg and nice gravy, good service and the views of the harbour were brilliant, would recommend to anyone. Gerry and sue from darlington

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was as described and very clean, with a welcome full-sized kettle and plenty of tea/coffee supplies, even some biscuits! The shower was excellent, hot and powerful. The bed was comfortable too. The location was great, just at the bottom of the 199 steps up to the Abbey. There is a separate street door for the two rooms so you can come and go as you please. There is very little traffic, the street is mostly pedestrianised, but deliveries, bin emptying etc does happen quite early in the morning (around 7.30-8 am) so you won't need an alarm clock! It's only a few minutes' walk to the swing bridge and close to plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants etc. The staff in the pub are friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere affordable to stay in Whitby for a night or two - or even longer - this is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#79 of 151 in Whitby
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#51 of 151 in Whitby
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#69 of 151 in Whitby
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Property: The Board Inn
Address: 125 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing