We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Pub”
Review of The Board Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Board Inn
Ranked #90 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We've had lunch at The Board Inn twice and on both occasions it's been really good. There is a good range of well kept beer, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly. We will return when we next visit Whitby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat99L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent pub with nice beers on tap. It has great views from the restaurant area. We didn't eat but the food coming out for others looked good. Bar staff polite and friendly.

Children are welcome until 9 pm as long as they are not in the bar area.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Trippyricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

- Lovely view of the harbour etc
- friendly staff. One of my family members had a bad back, so we had assistance.
- I don't eat much in one sitting so asked for the children's cod bites. These were delicious!

- the chips weren't very nice. Used to be homemade, now just oven chips fried in a frier. Please change them back!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank geraldinevickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited the board inn and had the sunday lunch,it was lovely, we had the roast beef and Yorkshires, lots of veg and nice gravy, good service and the views of the harbour were brilliant, would recommend to anyone. Gerry and sue from darlington

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room was as described and very clean, with a welcome full-sized kettle and plenty of tea/coffee supplies, even some biscuits! The shower was excellent, hot and powerful. The bed was comfortable too. The location was great, just at the bottom of the 199 steps up to the Abbey. There is a separate street door for the two rooms so you can come and go as you please. There is very little traffic, the street is mostly pedestrianised, but deliveries, bin emptying etc does happen quite early in the morning (around 7.30-8 am) so you won't need an alarm clock! It's only a few minutes' walk to the swing bridge and close to plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants etc. The staff in the pub are friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere affordable to stay in Whitby for a night or two - or even longer - this is a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Whitby for a daytrip and Called at The Board Inn for lunch. Beautiful character filled building right opposite the 199 steps upto Whitby Abbey. Went downstairs into the harbour view restaurant which was small but cosy. Grab a window seat if you can the views are to die for. I had the sunday roast roast which was delicious and thers ordered the fish and chips. The fish was enormous and fresh
The staff were attentive and very efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JANBELL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Board Inn was recommended to me as a good place to eat. We weren't disappointed. On Saturday afternoon during WGW we had excellent fish and chips washed down with the best pint of Old Peculiar I've had in ages. The place was packed but our meal arrived very quickly. I happily recommend The Board Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Inn Whitby
The Station Inn Whitby
#91 of 152 in Whitby
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blencathra Guest House
Blencathra Guest House
#59 of 152 in Whitby
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: 125 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing