We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food,,location and service”
Review of The Board Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Board Inn
Ranked #90 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Whitby for a daytrip and Called at The Board Inn for lunch. Beautiful character filled building right opposite the 199 steps upto Whitby Abbey. Went downstairs into the harbour view restaurant which was small but cosy. Grab a window seat if you can the views are to die for. I had the sunday roast roast which was delicious and thers ordered the fish and chips. The fish was enormous and fresh
The staff were attentive and very efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JANBELL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Board Inn was recommended to me as a good place to eat. We weren't disappointed. On Saturday afternoon during WGW we had excellent fish and chips washed down with the best pint of Old Peculiar I've had in ages. The place was packed but our meal arrived very quickly. I happily recommend The Board Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are looking for good home cooked English comfort food than you need to visit the Board Inn. Near the foot of 199 steps, this restaurant has excellent views over the harbour at the back of the pub and views of the steps and the beginning of Henrietta Street at the front. There is a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the pub and they serve food until 9 o'clock on a night. Tasty food and generous portion sizes.
Also, a nice place to just have a drink on a night especially as they have live music most Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. Only downfall is that it needs to be bigger due to its popularity. However, this cannot be helped!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Her-Maj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pleasant meal, home made mushroom lasagne and best pint we had in Whitby ... The portion size was spot on. Excellent value nice feel to place .. Also great music some tracks I hadn't heard before .. If you want a nice vibe and good value for home cooked grub this place is it .. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank abblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

A lovely warm welcome on possibly the coldest day for some time into a traditional down to earth pub situated in a reflect location for exploring Whitby's delights .
Excellent value for a clean warm room offering the usual amenities , a lovely view out over the harbour and the home cooked food is mouth watering .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigsteve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Station Inn Whitby
The Station Inn Whitby
#92 of 152 in Whitby
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Board Inn

Address: 125 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing