We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short break”
other travelers have booked this property
5 bedroom, detached house. Easily sleeps 10 guests. Beautiful gardens and parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 bedroom, detached house. Easily sleeps 10 guests. Beautiful gardens and parking.
Spacious, traditional conservatory looking onto established gardens. Easy access to the house and parking for 4 cars.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
5 bedroom, detached house. Easily sleeps 10 guests. Beautiful gardens and parking.
Spacious, traditional conservatory looking onto established gardens.
Easy access to the house and parking for 4 cars.
Beautiful gardens where children can explore and play safely.
Large, fully equipped kitchen diner with Bosch appliances, T.V and underfloor heating.
Enjoy socialising in a comfortable and relaxing environment.
Everything you need to prepare food and drinks for a large group.
A welcome pack of goodies to get you started!
Plenty of space to sit and relax in the conservatory in the warmer months.
Comfortable living room with Smart T.V, free-sat and dvd player.
Ground floor twin room next to a large family bathroom.
Ground floor bathroom with bath and low level, walk-in shower.
Spacious master bedroom with large ensuite bathroom.
Master bedroom with king size bed and fitted wardrobes.
Master ensuite with separate bath and shower cubicle.
Large ensuite bathroom to master bedroom.
First floor double bedroom with fitted wardrobes and views of front garden.
Light and airy twin bedroom on first-floor (can be converted to a double).
Lovely first floor room with a single bed and a pull-out single bed.
First floor shared bathroom with large shower enclosure.
A unique house in the centre of Whitby with character, original features and modern touches.
Enjoy sitting in the garden and eating al fresco. BBQ provided.
Private driveway parking for 4 cars.
Hanover Cottage is ideally located 5-minutes from amenities.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dextergal...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Hanover cottage was absolutely lovely from the first moment, the house and the gardens are absolutely amazing. Everything you can think off is provided , only thing missing was a stopper for the wine . The owner Nicola met us on arrival with a warm welcome and showed us around. I would of given Hanover cottage a 5star review but the only thing I disliked was me having to strip the bedding on the last day of our stay. I would not only recommend it but would hope to stay again, definitely

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and would visit again. Sorry if you felt you had to strip the beds before leaving- there is a polite notice saying it would be a big help if guests can do this but it’s not essential. It just ensures we can get the house fully cleaned and ready in time for new guests. Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C
1 review
“Lovely cottage with beautiful garden.”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Nicola welcomed us to her lovely cottage. It is in a good location with ample parking and is handy for the town and amenities. The ladies particularly admired the lovely garden. A nice touch was the welcome hamper complete with wine, tea, coffee, biscuits, bread and preserves. We were disappointed to find it had already been booked for the same week next year, but would certainly book again another time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Hi Richard. So pleased you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hanover Cottage”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved our stay at Hanover Cottage. The owners have really thought about what should be provided and clearly take pride in their property.
As well as the usual Whitby attractions ,the house is close to the West Cliff which is great for a morning run and close to a playpark for kids.
Accommodation is spacious and the garden is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Hi Christopher, thank you so much for taking the time to review Hanover Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Hi Susan. Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's much appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you here again. Best regards. Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
howards24...
Syston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our third stay at Hanover Cottage in five years. Have stayed in other places in Whitby but this is by far the best. Newly refurbished when we visited a couple of years ago and improved on an already great place. Location is good, although on the main road it is quiet inside. A bit of a slog uphill from the town, but that is everywhere on this piece of coast.
Amenities in the house are excellent with good size full bath and shower in downstairs bathroom. Heating excellent with no cold spots. Kitchen more than adequate for nine of us.
Would we go again, of course.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thank you very much Howard, hope you you can visit us again soon.
Best wishes. Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Ideal location with a short walk down the hill into Whitby. Lovely sized house which is ideal for a larger family, group of friends or for running a retreat/ workshops weekend. Lovely and clean. Well equipped. There is a twin room downstairs which is ideal if there is anyone who can't manage the stairs to the first floor and also a downstairs bathroom with toilet. There is 4 more bedrooms upstairs with another bathroom. It was a wonderful venue for our crafting weekend with the girls. We enjoyed it so much, I think it will have to be an annual retreat for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Hi Carol
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again soon.
Best regards.
Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDurham...
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant, did not want to go home. We shall return.”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Everything about Hanover cottage is perfect.
We had a wonderful family get together to celebrate a birthday.
There was sufficient parking for our cars. Not that we needed them often...almost everywhere we went was withing walking distance.
There was nothing we lacked,it was simply home from home. So much so, we didn't want to go home!!
The cottage is cosy, comfortable, spotlessly clean and very spacious. The kitchen/cooking amenities are superb. The kitchen table was big enough for our party of 9 to sit comfortably.
We look forward to visiting again in the summer where we can take advantage of the conservatory and enjoy the wonderful garden.
Thank you Nicola, we look forward to meeting you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen facilities and space.
Liked least: Returning home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Thank you. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again. Best regards. Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing