We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing cottage,”
other travelers have booked this property
lounge with comfy leather sofas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge with comfy leather sofas
lounge lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
lounge with comfy leather sofas
lounge
lounge
country oak doors
lounge to relax
whitby piers
kitchen
kitchen
abstract blinds seascape
a place to eat
oak country doors
solid wood floors
sandstone steps
outside
lawned
award winning pet friendly
dog treasure chest
wc downstairs
bathroom
single bedroom
south facing patio time to relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne W
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely relaxing cottage,”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our 3rd year staying in this lovely cottage, very quiet, but close to all shops and amenities, lovely well fenced garden, no problem of children or dogs escaping, treats and toys left for dogs.
This year we finally met Jeana, (the owner) lovely friendly chatty lady, we have found over the last 3 yrs that nothing is to much trouble for this lovely lady, last year and this year we celebrated our wedding anniversary in Whitby, found a lovely surprise of a card and bottle of wine both times when we arrived, thank you very much Jeana.
We will definitely be booking soon for next year as we love this place so much
Lynne, Stephen & Bonnie the dog, xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely and relaxing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was so nice to meet you both at long last, after all this time, i can put a name to a face, and your dog bonnie was such a cutie, i always try and leave a little suprise if i know its a special day, i am just glad you can relax and enjoy your time in whitby at the cottage, thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M
1 review
“PERFECT”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in The Paddock Cottage, for a week in August 2016, with my husband, 13 teen year old son,my mother in-law and are two toy poodles. The cottage is very cosy, full of character,great location to see Whitby,everything was on your door step,the weather was great for us,the garden is a sun trap, which we loved and so did the dogs, it was the PERFECT place for us, hope to book for next year. Thank you Jeana for all the information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Seagulls
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you so much for a lovely review, and im sure we will see you next year again with us, like most of our guests, the garden is great if you get the sun it stays all day with it having a south facing garden, glad you all had a fab time thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angies28
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely, private”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is brilliantly located, just pop round the corner and you are in th middle of all the shops and pubs in Whitby yet it is so quiet and peaceful. We were very lucky with the weather, it was glorious. The outside has a lovely garden, full of flowers, tables, chairs, parasol and even fishing nets for kids. It is fully enclosed and dogs are safe. Inside it is cosy and quirky with steps up to the kitchen from the lounge leading to a bathroom and separate toilet. The lounge has rugs and wooden floors comfy seating and a gorgeous leather couch, in the instructions it says to bring a throw for the couch but there is a basket in front of the t.v. with dog throws in and the coffee table has dog toys inside. Upstairs are three bedrooms, the main one on the first floor with ensuite toilet and handbasin has a gorgeous large, comfy bed and lots of storage space. On the second floor is a smaller bedroom which you walk through to reach the larger third double bedroom. You only need to take your own towels, I would recommend 2 hand towels and one large bath towel.
Overall it is a beautiful cottage and Jeanna is a superb host.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and informative review, so glad you have taken the time to write this honest review, and i may see you all again, Jeana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia6...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely stay at Paddock Cottage.We know Whitby anyway and is always a treat to spend time in the town. We also had our dogs with us and it was great that this was such dog friendly accommodation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, and glad you all had a fab stay, we may see you again and your lovely doggies
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieO739...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have just spent the weekend with my husband in Paddock Cottage. The cottage is minutes away from the centre and is well equipped and very cosy. Layout a bit quirky but for us added to the charm. The bed was very comfy and the cottage has everything you could need, very dog friendly too, safe enclosed sunny garden so we could let our dog out without worrying that she would escape. Overall a wonderful weekend. Thanks to Jeana for her efficient friendly service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing to comment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you had a great time, and enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey f
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Words cannot express how WONDERFUL this cottage and JEANNA are”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

After spending Christmas in Whitby for several years, in a what we thought was a great cottage, we discovered Jeanna's properties. Last year she allowed us to have a look around and we immediately got a great feeling for the place and the service. We have dogs and it is so important that they come with us on holiday, this property more than makes that achievable. I travelled with my two daughters, my husband and our dogs. There is adequate space for all of us and everything is comfortable, from the new settee to the beds. The garden area adds that extra bit of space when you come back from a great walk to Ruswarp or Sandsend. We cooked a brilliant Xmas lunch there and all the equipment we needed was provided. On arrival there was a bottle of bubbly and a lovely card from Jeanna, just to confirm how friendly and thoughtful she is. We have already booked for next Christmas and can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was like being at home.
Liked least: Leaving...........
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, you are all more than welcome anytime, i was so glad you all enjoyed xmas with your children and doggies, makes me happy that you all had a fab stay, look forward to you visiting next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue W
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful dog and people friendly accommodation!”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Excellent clean cosy and comfortable accommodation. Easy access of amenities yet still quiet and cosy .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2015
Thank you so much for your review, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us people and doggies, your all welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing