We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Whitby
Post
Inbox
Search

“Smashing Pub”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Ranked #29 of 239 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A traditional, two bar pub offering ensuite accommodation and cold served Yapas (Yorkshire Tapas). Complemented by cask ales, over 20 gins, 10 rums, craft beers, ciders and a selection of wine from around the world. It’s a small pub with a big choice! We support our local Lifeboat and Whitby dog rescue. Dogs are allowed in the bar areas, but not the accommodation.
Restaurant details
Description: A traditional, two bar pub offering ensuite accommodation and cold served Yapas (Yorkshire Tapas). Complemented by cask ales, over 20 gins, 10 rums, craft beers, ciders and a selection of wine from around the world. It’s a small pub with a big choice! We support our local Lifeboat and Whitby dog rescue. Dogs are allowed in the bar areas, but not the accommodation.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn’t eat but the selection of drinks was very good. Small front room which makes it cosy. Staff were very friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CeylonAlan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 181 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2019

We just love this pub. Always made to feel welcome.Everyone is made to feel welcome.
An excellent selection of beers, ciders, whiskey and wines.
Just like stepping back in time when you walk through the doors.
Dog friendly, and friendly staff.
Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

The first time I went here I literally couldn't get in the door because it was so packed. My second attempt was much more successful. Small front bar, slightly larger back back. Decent ales on cask on the bar. Good atmosphere. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Whitby Folk Festival would not be the same without a visit or three to our favourite source of real ale and heartfelt music, delivered with passion!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 99Philmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Been coming here for years, this is a small pub but the best selection of drinks in Whitby Real ale and scrumpy cider along with Hoegaarden and Leffe on tap and a great selection of gin. Can be very busy some nights in high season but well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Oostende42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing