We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun ^ Choppy Waters”

Whitby Old Lifeboat
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
chiang rai
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Fun ^ Choppy Waters”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The skipper was a good laugh, very funny. We went out at the end of Sunday, the swells were between 1 & 2 metres and we weren't exactly taking the calmest route through them. The woman sat next to us was actually scared! Despite the waves it was a very pleasant trip yo the buoy and back!

Helpful?
1 Thank waterpist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    20
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Oh oh oh and a pot of tea!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent the day in Whitby and after reading the reviews decided to take this trip. Skipper Barry and his mate were amazing. Like the chuckle bros but funny. The boat is full of history and skip was happy to stop his standup and talk about it. Ok the weather was cold but sunny but an excellent trip, Excellent value and we both really enjoyed it although we missed the seal! Trip took about half hour and went down the river past the stunning scenery and draw dropping property. If u want a laugh and great atmosphere do this trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcandLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good trip out, we were kept amused and interested by the skipper and and mate on board, would be even better when weather warmed up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manc missionary worker from London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good fun!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great fun and the lads were welcoming and brilliant - thank you! Really enjoyed the town - first visit for us but will certainly be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazbazpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a very good time on this trip on a lovely old vessel. The captain was very funny and had plenty of anecdotes to amuse us all with as well as the usual tour information. He took us all out of the harbour and out to sea, but we had to do a U-turn pretty quickly as the wind was higher than expected. This made for a hilariously bumpy brief ride on the sea waves and my husband and I, along with some kids and their family, found it very funny indeed as it was like a rollercoaster ride! We were brought back safe and sound to go round the river instead, which was a shame as the sea was such good fun, but we could understand the need for the health and safety call!
It was a lovely run up and down the river and going under the swing bridge and waving at everyone were particular highlights.
It is a lovely old vessel and we had a great time. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitby Old Lifeboat also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Old Lifeboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing