We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Cafe

Harbour View Cafe
Ranked #95 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rutland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A good meal with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean throughout. We all had the early evening meal deal which was delicious. Freshly cooked fish and good portions. We sat upstairs at the only table that had a harbour view. The menu had a good range of fish dishes. Well worth visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best chippy I've visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I arrived after a long day walking around Whitby so had a good appetite built up, great welcome from staff, real nice food loved my fish platter and my family loved their food, the seating area with the views is particularly good for adding to the Whitby experience of traditional fish and chips in a fishing town

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DizzySole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNWhitby, Owner at Harbour View Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to comment and glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at Harbour View. Hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scrummy food, great location and best value in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The second time we have visited this great find and after the gorgeous fish and chips we had last summer I gave the fish platter a go. All I can say is wow. It's huge and has everything you could possibly want and more! With the three of us (two adults and a young child) the overall price was incredible, I had the platter, my daughter had a children's meal and my partner went for a tea time deal that came with his pot of tea. It was even cheaper than our usual weekend takeaway.
Such lovely fresh food and definately gives other well known fish restaurants in the area a run for their money and without the need for queuing.
I would also suggest to cheak out the upstairs and the beautiful decoration. Could not be better located right next to HSBC and the bridge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkyscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNWhitby, Owner at Harbour View Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of Harbour View. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and in particular our 'famous' fish shop platter. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Whitby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food served by lovely staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a find. The most delicious fish and chips and scampi and chips I have ever eaten. Fresh, reasonably priced, served quickly and by lovely staff.

I would highly recommend this restaurant and its location is fabulous, near the shops, harbour and other attractions.

We look forward to returning! If you go to Whitby, eat here. Simple as that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdenLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNWhitby, Owner at Harbour View Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of Harbour View and your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and the food. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a bargain.............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

we went at tea time, as we had a 3 year old with us & for £6.95 we got fish, chips, peas, bread & butter & tea/coffee. The staff were really nice, service was great & fish & chips out of this world - not at all greasy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyd1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNWhitby, Owner at Harbour View Cafe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Tea Time Special offer. Hope to welcome you again to Harbour View in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour View Cafe also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harbour View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing