We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cook's Quarters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cook's Quarters
Ranked #39 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying on monday 1st october. The b&b is in a great location just a short walk from the town centre. We arrived early (11am) and went for a walk around town and had lunch. When we checked in we were shown to our room (nice touch). We were explanined the facilities and then offered complimentary coffee/tea and cake (which were lovely).
The room was spacious as well as the bathroom, very comfortable and big bed with nice linen.
Breakfast was amazing. Her standard breakfast was 2 of everything. Very tasty but was too much for me.
We are already planning our next trip to whitby and will deffinately consider staying at the Cooks Quarters again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Cake! Lisa's cake!! I digress...Cooks Quarters - it's a great place to stay, the rooms are really posh and although the establishment is fairly small, like a normal house, it's cosy and comfortable and the owners do their best to make it feel that way. Parking is on the street outside and free as long as you can find a space, we had no trouble during the 2 night stay. Whitby centre is 10mins walk down the hill or through the pleasant park opposite, and is a lovely town.

Wifi is free and worked fine, our room had a large double and was spotlessly clean with tea/coffee and a nice new bathroom. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty, but the afternoon coffee and CAKE.....mmmmmm :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed for aug bank hol week-end,we could not fault any-thing about this hotel,new furnishings,both hard and soft,lovely decor thru-out the building,breakfast was super,they do offer cereals,but only thing that let them down was no grapefruit,prunes or yoghurt,tho if you do want it they will get it for you,so not really a problem,lisa is a lovely helpful proprieter,and nigel a great breakfast cook,comfy bed,clean toilet and shower reasonable prices,what more could you want?

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!!!! doent matter which one you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for just one night and chose the family room for the extra space. After being shown the other two double rooms we realised we would have been comfortable in any of them. Recently decorated and furnished, clean, comfortable, excellent location overlooking the park and only a short walk into the town centre ( up hill on the way back!) or down to the north shore.
Breakfast was excellent, full english and served in a lovely dining area - where the afternoon coffee and cakes are left out for guests too. Only a couple of minor things would have made a difference - if we'd stayed for longer - a hook in the bathroom and a small shelf for toiletries. Also perhaps a chair in the room - although there was a comfy sofa on the landing. Next time I'll also take a pair of slippers to leave at the front door - I was so concerned about walking on the lovely cream carpet throughout the building. It was spotless.
Hoping to go back soon - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Two double and one family room - request the larger of the doubles. Family room has a great view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axeloskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mer343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
626 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
273 reviews
5.3 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#139 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Quarters

Address: 2 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $110 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house opposite the beautiful Pannett Park in the centre of Whitby less than five minutes walk from the main shopping and harbour tourist areas, bus and railway stations (steam trains depart here) from which the north Yorkshire moors are easily explored.Our recently renovated Victorian Seaside Villa now offers high quality en-suite accommodation with flat screen satellite TV’s , tea and coffee facilities etc in all of our large comfortable rooms . With only three rooms we have the time to provide our guests with friendly relaxed accommodation and quality catering .Enjoy your stay in Whitby with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cook's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing