We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place to stay!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Whitby Retreats

The stunning harbour view...at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Fine dining...
The master bedroom - with ensuite and harbour view
Original features include feature fireplaces in both bedrooms
Open the door, enjoy the view...
17a peeks out from the yard of the Captain Cook Museum (middle of picture)
The tiny study
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WilsonWes...
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

This apartment has everthing and more to make your stay perfect. It is in a great position of sightseeing.
The rooms are very comfortable, especially in winter, it was lovey and warm.
Well worth the money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libbyl00
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Lovely Apartment in a Central Location”
Reviewed March 10, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Just back from a long weekend staying here with my teenage daughter and mother-in-law and we have all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this stylish, warm, comfortable and well equipped apartment.
Although a little more expensive than average, this place is very central and beautifully decorated. Everything you need is provided, inc. towels, tissues, milk, tea, coffee and a lovely bottle of wine!
The lounge is very spacious with a nice harbour view. DVD's, games and books, etc. were very welcome, however the TV was a bit disappointing - poor reception and only 4 channels, not even freeview.
I would have expected more from a 4 star property.
The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with a harbour view from the main, the en-suite and family bathroom were very clean and stylish.
As previously mentioned, there could be street noise late at night, however we expected this, so weren't bothered by it.
The kitchen is very well equipped, it has everything you need and more.
As the apartment is within the Capt. Cook Museum yard, it is very secure, although we had problems getting through the outer door from outside the yard - very tricky lock! To be fair though, this entrance lock is the museum's responsibility, you just have to find the knack of unlocking it!
We have stayed in numerous properties in Whitby over the years and I have to say this one was definitely my daughter's favourite - she wanted to live there!
All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Emma, the owner, is very helpful and efficient - it was a pleasure to do business with her. We will certainly return here again, sooner rather than later!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EpicCure
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Smart spacious apartment in central location in fun town and area”
Reviewed September 25, 2009 for a stay in September 2009

I agree with the other reviews that this is a very good apartment and well situated. The location was very central. We felt very safe and secure behind the 2 doors leading into the harbour facing courtyard from which the apartment was entered.We didn't have any issues with late night noise although we didn't stay at the weekend. The main bedroom is now double glazed. There were many restaurants either within 1 minute on this side of the bridge or over the bridge and in the pier direction. Ignore the pizza restaurant opposite and try the inexpensive Italian on Church Street opposite the car park. We also ate at the Moon and Sixpence towards the pier where I had oysters looking out over the harbour entrance. We walked to the Abbey the steps of which are only 4 minutes away.
We parked the whole time on in a car park on Church street from which Grape lane leads. Just a minute away. I bought a 3 day pass for £10 from the Tourist Information office. The NYM railway is only 4 minutes walk over the bridge and we travelled to Pickering and back. Take the train to Grosmont at least. It was wonderful standing on the station there and watching the steam trains. The next station, Goathland was Hogsmead station in the Harry Potter films and the village itself was Aidenfield. Robin Hood's Bay is only a few miles away and is very picturesque. The tourist information centre is just over the bridge and to the right. There's two supermarkets just over the other side of the bridge, one just by the train station and tourist information centre.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallow_T...
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shows the others how it should be done!”
Reviewed March 12, 2009 for a stay in February 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Searching for good self catering accommodation can be a nightmare, and I'd tried quite a few places in Whitby before I found Whitby Retreats on Grape Lane. I'd had the usual experience; surly owners not returning my calls, vastly inflated prices for tiny flats which seemed to be furnished with cast-offs from the family caravan, and the slightly daunting prospect of heading off for my "holiday" armed with my own bedlinen, teatowels, tea, coffee, soap, etc, etc...

However, I was lucky enough to stumble upon Whitby Retreats. My experience couldn't have been more different. When Emma, the owner, contacted me she was so professional that I was surprised to later discover that she was actually the owner of the property and not, as I had assumed, from a professional lettings agency.

I was impressed to discover that WR offer a variety of payment options, including PayPal, and after making my booking the keys to the apartment arrived the very next day, along with immensely helpful directions and instructions on where to park.

The flat itself is absolutely gorgeous, and the pictures on the website don't do it justice. This is a proper period home, and all rooms are of a generous size (in contrast to many holiday flats which often feature carved up rooms divided by paper-thin partition walls). There are no caravan cast-offs here either: the owners have furnished the flat with good-quality furnishings better than most of those in my own home. The kitchen is similarly well-stocked - in how many self catering flats would you find not only a toasters and microwave but a juicer?! The kitchen is also large and airy which makes eating at home an absolute pleasure.

The rest of the flat meets the same standard, and is full of little touches which just enhanced our stay. The owners provide plenty of local information, but they also leave a welcome pack with general information on the property including how to recycle your rubbish. The stereo in the flat comes complete with a cord to connect your MP3 player, and the collection of DVDs in the flat includes something for everyone. All this and there's no need to pack up your life before you go, as teatowels, hand soap, bed linen, bath towels, tea, coffee, salt and freshly ground black pepper PLUS a pint of fresh milk in the fridge are all waiting for you upon your arrival.

We had a fabulous time in Whitby, largely due to our fantastic accommodation. The owners clearly pay great attention to detail and it pays off - if only other landlords of other holiday homes took a few tips from Whitby Retreats.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharpyuk
uk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 21, 2008 for a stay in July 2008
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we opened the door it felt like home and the decor was nice and simple but to a high standard .
The owners have gone along way to ensure everything is provided , because we always forget something when we go away .
The setting is lovely and you are right in the hustle and bustle of a busy fishing\ holiday and close to all the amenities .
We would recommend it to anyone who wanted a home from home stay , and we'll definitely be back next year .
We booked at short notice but the owners ensured we got our keys sent to us and even took the time to phone before we left to make sure they had got there safely .
The only small issue we had was a bit of late night noise from people taking a short cut but hey you prbably have the same in the house you live in at home ( if you live in a town or city )
It is also a family type cottage with everything catered for in case of a british summer down pour , books and dvds and even some cd music so everything has been thought of by the owners .
Once again thanks for letting us stay in your lovely home .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Liked best: its homely feeling
Liked least: nothing perfect
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly1814
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous break in Whitby”
Reviewed December 10, 2007 for a stay in November 2006
1
person found this review helpful

This is a gorgeous house tucked away on a cobbled street, right in the heart of all the action in Whitby. Really lovely inside, very cosy and a great size – I went with just my boyfriend and there was loads of space – I should think it would be great for families.

We went on a very cold weekend in November, but despite that, loved Whitby, the house is a very short walk from Whitby Abbey and also all the pubs and eateries etc. It’s a great location and a real ‘home from home’ experience. A treat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Liked best: Quality and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldTig...
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Comfortable base for exploring Whitby - for heavy sleepers!”
Reviewed June 1, 2007 for a stay in June 2007
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is, as others have said, well-appointed, neutrally decorated to please and securely located. Car-less as we were (Whitby parking has always been an nightmare) we found it an excellent location for sorties out into and beyond the town, which is one of England's finest for a traditional seaside holiday.

A few observations:

Grape Lane on to which the bedrooms face is both a destination in its own right (restaurants) and a popular thoroughfare for those coming to - and going home from - other eateries and pubs in Whitby. At least on Fridays and Saturdays, expect broken or no sleep until gone 1am (or later) unless you are a heavy sleeper. I suggest the owners dual-glaze the bedrooms and/or provide heavier curtains (something that would help cut down on the light that also permeates bedrooms from 5am in Summer.

We found it difficult to get the bedrooms warm, though the central heating was efficient.

There were some issues around bathroom cleanliness which the owners need to address with their cleaner.

Overall, a good experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Liked best: Comfortable and stylish decor and furnishings; thoughful lttle touches.
Liked least: Noise from street in bedrooms
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing