We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing flat, great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Whitby Retreats

The stunning harbour view...at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Fine dining...
The master bedroom - with ensuite and harbour view
Original features include feature fireplaces in both bedrooms
Open the door, enjoy the view...
17a peeks out from the yard of the Captain Cook Museum (middle of picture)
The tiny study
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BoydStanh...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing flat, great location”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We've just come back from a long weekend at this property. It's everything it says it is and more. Very smart, great location and view of the river. It's very close to all the bars and restaurants. The only very small downside is the lack of parking but everything else makes up for that. I'd definitely go again.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass66...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Truley amazing, central location, the owners have thought of everything you won't find a better place than this

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pazzer19
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week at this property. Booking was easy and the holiday company communicated well. They were contactable on Sunday morning when we had a hot water issue and fixed it. They have also been kind enough to post back items lie left at the property!

It's in a very central location everything in Whitby was accessible by foot.

The accomodation is very spacious and comfortable, albeit looking a bit tired in places (kitchen). We didn't find unlocking the gate and outside door for the museum to access the property a problem.

The kids particularly enjoyed fossil hunting (thanks for the hammer!) - Sandsend was perfect for that!

The only negatives would be the parking, it was a nightmare - maybe better out of season. Luckily we knew someone in Whtiby who gave us a couple of scratch card permits otherwise I don't know where we would have left the car. We think the owners could look at getting a parking permit. Secondly we found the location very noisy, especially early morning with deliveries to the restaurant over the road and staff coming into th museum through all the doors - no chance of a lie in past 7 most days!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: The noise
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just travelling home after a brilliant weeks holiday at 17a grape lane! The apartment included everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable! We will be back x

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for us”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our second time as this property just suited us so well. Lovely historic building with modern comforts, such a terrific central location, nice view. We're also grateful for how pleasant and welcoming it has been for our toddler with cot bed, high chair and toys. We'll be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Been visiting Whitby for many years. First time staying at Grape Lane. We absolutely loved the place. Great position. Great views. Loads of space. Highly recommend

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent property”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Absolutely loved this property. Stayed in Whitby many times and this property is by far the best. Clean and welcoming, this property is in a brilliant location and is so spacious. Ignore the comments about noise we didn't hear a thing the whole time we were there. Would stay here without question for every Goth Weekend or any time we fancy a weekend away.

100% property. Thank you

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing