We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total enjoyment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Whitby Retreats

The stunning harbour view...at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Fine dining...
The master bedroom - with ensuite and harbour view
Original features include feature fireplaces in both bedrooms
Open the door, enjoy the view...
17a peeks out from the yard of the Captain Cook Museum (middle of picture)
The tiny study
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total enjoyment”
Reviewed January 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay in Whitby Retreats provided everything we were looking for in a seaside break.; a veritable home from home. It provided a delightful mix of modern facilities in a traditional setting, overlooking the harbour. The accommodation is comfortable and spacious and the standard of cleanliness is high. Much thought has gone into providing all that a self-catering holiday home requires. A return beckons.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandad26
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Booked this place thinking it was a hotel and when we got there it turned out to be a holiday flat down a back street. No one there to greet us, No Parking, No Bar, and No food.
Very disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2011
Regrettably, we believe this to be a malicious review, since we gathered feedback from all our guests last August (as we always do), and it was universally positive. Furthermore, we did not have any couples from York staying at our property during that month. I've also tried to contact the reviewer so that we can address their comments - but have heard nothing. Taking all this into consideration, we don't believe that this is a genuine review. We have asked Trip Advisor to investigate for us.

We are proud to be a self-catering apartment in the heart of old Whitby, overlooking the harbour, tucked away in one of the town's charming yards. We make this very clear in our marketing literature. We have never claimed to be a hotel! Therefore, there's no bar or restaurant in the apartment, of course. We have a 4-star accreditation from Visit Britain, and work really hard to keep the property tip-top. We take customer feedback very seriously, and do whatever we can to make our guests stays relaxing and enjoyable. We are proud of our reputation, and are very upset to have received such a review. We hope future travellers are not put off - please feel free to contact us directly if you have questions or concerns!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie M
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Whitby location”
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

This is a perfect place to stay in Whitby. It's in the heart of the town, yet removed enough from the main drag to be peaceful. It has excellent views of the harbor from the master bedroom and the living room. The flat is huge, light, airy, and clean. It's tastefully decorated and comfortable. The kitchen is modern and well equipped, and there is also a washer/dryer.
It is wonderful to wake up and watch the fishing boats setting out, accompanied by the voices of seagulls.
The flat doesn't have wireless, but BT Openzone worked for us. Our family had a wonderful time staying in the flat, and we can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't imagine a better place to stay in Whitby”
Reviewed April 11, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is an exceptionally lovely house, and I write as someone who has rented holiday accomodation over a dozen times in the UK and Europe. It is in a fantastic location, right in the heart of the town but in a quitish lane adjacent to a good safe car park.

The house is laid out over three floors with the main living area on the first floor which includes a couple of comfy sofas, Sky Freeview TV and a good selection on CDs and Videos. There is also a small study alcove in which our son sat and played video games. The Kitchen is large and well equipped, two different sizes cafetieres! Upstairs are two very clean bedrooms with plain but stylish furniture and two bathrooms with all fittings in great working order-plenty of hot water.

Although its in an alleyway the house gets plenty of light and has lovely views over the harbour. You can tell I'm sure that we loved staying here and having seen some of what else is available in the town this was defintitely a cut above.

If I had one minor gripe it would be the keys to the external gate which is shared by the the friendly Cook Museum staff. These are stiff and took a bit of getting used and caused a bit of panic on our first night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnasher91
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we returned”
Reviewed December 18, 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.
I love this place, came in June so booked again for a winter break. This place is amazingly comfy, cozy and home from home. Everything there that you will ever need especially if you are snowed in like we were. Didn't deter us, went for long walks and came back to mulled wine, warm house and relaxing in the gorgeous deep bath.
Love Whitby, won the quiz at the Board Inn (recommended), went to The Moon and Sixpence for a few cocktails and went to Dolly's Diner for hot chocolate.
Will definately be staying again in 2011.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnasher91
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem”
Reviewed June 22, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Stayed here last week on advice from all trip advisors and so glad we did!
What a lovely home, everything you could possibly need and we had a fabulous time there. Shall definately rebook as love Whitby and the house just made it even more special for our trip away. For all the people talking about WiFi buy a dongle, works just fine. The Captain Cook Museum lock was a pain at times especially after a trip to the Moon and Sixpence but having the courtyard to ourselves after they had gone home made up for it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickie_De...
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Accomodation In The Heart Of The Town”
Reviewed May 21, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

I stayed at this accomodation during Aprils goth festival, we were here to do business as well as have some leisure time. The house was extremely clean, had everything we needed and was extremely spacious.
The harbour views were fantastic, it really did make it feel like a holiday for us and we were within walking distance of everything!
The house owners had done us proud and we will certainly be looking to book this accomodation again in the near future! :D
(Nickie)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing